• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what's wrong with my Antec True Power????

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LandShark

Super Shark Moderator
ok, i'm using an Antec True Power 500W psu to power the machine that i'm building:
P4 2.4b
P4G8X
2 x 512MB PC3200LL
1 CD-RW
1 DVD-ROM
2 WD 800JB
1 RAID controller
1 Sound card
1 GeForce4 Ti4400

that's it.

and the 12v. line is as low as 11.25v(!) reported from MBM5!! isn't it should be more than enough power to power this pretty basic setup?? on the other side, when i go into the BIOS, it said 11.8x v.?!

any idea how?? :rolleyes: sorry, i'm not good at electric class....:p

btw, system runs stabile for 2 days straight running SETI@Home for over 48hrs now......if it does under voltage that bad, down to 11.25v in 12v. line, the system shouldn't be stable at all, right?!

I've got the 430 watt true power and my bios says the 12 volt rail is about 12.25. I've measured it with a dvm and it was pretty close. I would suggest you measure yours rather than going by what MBM says.

drewthomas14 said:
use a volt meter to measure rails. never trust program readings

use the voltmeter on the open connectors you have.
mbm5 always have different reading on my board.
asusprobe show different reading too.
and if i have both of them on, readings goes up and down like a roller coaster...

I get the same readings for my 12v that you are. So far MBM5 has been that amount off as the monitor software that came with my Soyo Dragon shows it at 12.01v-12.06v

I'm going with the Soyo monitor since that is what I got when I had tested mine out. I'm sure yours is running at or just over 12v. Antec TruePower is a very stable and accurate PSU and out of the last 4 I have owned and own, all of them have been dead on.