Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Error in XP with new Mobo

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-03, 04:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
Buddha1822
Member

 
Buddha1822's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

 
Error in XP with new Mobo


Ok.... last night i just booted up and did a fresh install on a newly bought 120GB harddrive of Windows XP with my entirely new system... including the A7N8X deluxe, xp 2100+, radeon 8500le, etc. etc.... i have recently been starting to get a load of "The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000006)." errors when i try to run a few things from CD drives. Any suggestions on what the problem might be and how to resolve it? Thanks!
Buddha1822 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-03, 07:01 PM   #2
weasel
Member

 
weasel's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Springhill, La

 
Have you locked the agp at 66, or is it set to auto? I forgot to lock mine back when I cleared cmos after a bios update, and was getting alot of errors, including video driver errors. If your running a high fsb, this may be your problem.

__________________
Folding for team 32 / My heatware
weasel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-03, 08:09 PM   #3
BigJk-47
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NY

10 Year Badge
 
LOL,I reccomend just re-formatting when you get a new mobo,everything runs so smoothly with a fresh start.

__________________
Heatware:Heat
BigJk-47 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-21-03, 09:05 PM   #4
DanFraser
Member

 
DanFraser's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Derby UK

10 Year Badge
 
Take a nip into device manager, remove any items that relate to all your cd/dvd drives, reboot, that should take care of it, after that, i am stuck!

This problem does come from Windows (in general, not just XP) not registering the CD drive letter properly, and returns this error.

__________________
Intel i5-4460 3.2GHz with stock cooler Kingston DDR3-1333 2x4GB
Gigabyte GA-H81M-DS2 MSI GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card
2x 120GB Kingston SSDNow! 1xSeagate 1TB Corsair 200R
Corsair CX430M PSU Stock Intel Cool for now
DanFraser is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-22-03, 03:54 PM Thread Starter   #5
Buddha1822
Member

 
Buddha1822's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Colorado Springs, CO

 
Yeh... i was reading somewhere i think it has to do with my old old piece o sh*t Toshiba DVD-rom, cuz some people with some other quite old DVD drives were having somewhat similar problems. HMmm.... i'll try that device manager thing, see if it reinstalls em correctly...
Buddha1822 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?