Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

how to read ns

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-25-03, 09:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
1-Man-Army
Member

 
1-Man-Army's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario Mississauga

 
how to read ns


ah can we make a guide to tell ppl how to determine ns on the video card's ram plz
"For those of u who dont no what ns means it means "Nano Second"

[size=2.2]How to determine how much ns is on ur video card's ram chip, to determine ur video cards ns u write down what u see on one of the ram chips and then look at the colum with numbers and a hypen after the hypen it would be the ns example [/size]

Hynix 234A
HY50V641622AT-4 "here is what ur looking for it says 4ns"
Korea


Quote:
[size=2.5]"This only applies to some Ram and not all types."[/size]
Quote:
[size=2.5]To determine rated speed you divide 1000 by ns rating.[/size]
Quote:
[size=2.5]Note on sum video cards the rated speed is not always true u have to test to find out![/size]

Last edited by 1-Man-Army; 03-26-03 at 02:50 PM.
1-Man-Army is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-03, 09:41 PM Thread Starter   #2
1-Man-Army
Member

 
1-Man-Army's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario Mississauga

 
can u mods plz make this a sticky so it would help ppl determine it with out a tone of ns threads
1-Man-Army is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-03, 09:44 PM   #3
Jeff7477
Member

 
Jeff7477's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lincoln, Ne

 
not all ram goes by this.....so I don't think that would be proper
Jeff7477 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-03, 09:47 PM   #4
bafbrian
Member

 
bafbrian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
Well, this should be a sticky and imply that this only applies to some Ram and not all types.
bafbrian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-03, 09:50 PM   #5
bafbrian
Member

 
bafbrian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
This way, most ppl will be able to read what NS they have and reduce the numbers of NS threads to save "bandwidth"( my 0.02 cents ).

I know myself, because I started a thread about finding my NS numbers, If would have known this thread was here, I wouldn't have posted it.

But if we make this a Sticky, then this would answer lots of questions. But we will say that this only applies to some RAM and not all types of RAM.
bafbrian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-25-03, 09:51 PM Thread Starter   #6
1-Man-Army
Member

 
1-Man-Army's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario Mississauga

 
yup save skip sum money! all agree to save skip the money ask to make stickie (pretty plz)
1-Man-Army is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 09:06 AM   #7
Michfan
Member

 
Michfan's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Alabama

 
Once it becomes a sticky it will become invisible. It always seems to happen that alot of ?'s that are in the FAQ's and such still get asked.

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 Opteron CAB2E Week 0548 2805 mhz (255x11)
Geforce 6800 GS @ 528/1175
1GB Mushkin Level I Black PC 3500
DFI LanParty NF4 Ultra-D
Thermalright XP 120 w/ Panaflo HighFlo 120mm Fan
WD 320gb 16mb Cache
Lite-On 16x Dual Layer DVDR/RW w/ Lightscribe
Michfan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 10:35 AM Thread Starter   #8
1-Man-Army
Member

 
1-Man-Army's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario Mississauga

 
ya but if we make it in caps "read this first if u want to determine ur ns" then it would catch there attention

Last edited by 1-Man-Army; 03-26-03 at 02:26 PM.
1-Man-Army is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 10:54 AM   #9
mirko_3
Member

 
mirko_3's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Italy

 
should be sticky.
and should also say that to determine rated speed you divide 1000 by ns rating. (could you add this at the top, 1-man-army? people are so lazy nowadays, they don't scroll all the way down, especially in stickies! )
mirko_3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 02:23 PM Thread Starter   #10
1-Man-Army
Member

 
1-Man-Army's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario Mississauga

 
added that part
1-Man-Army is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 04:13 PM   #11
bafbrian
Member

 
bafbrian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
I hope the MOD's make this a *sticky*.

Maybe you could get them to change the title though.

Need something to get readers attention.
bafbrian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 04:31 PM   #12
pip
Member

 
pip's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oregon, The InteLinux State

 
how about "!!READ THIS OR DIE!!"? lol
pip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 05:17 PM Thread Starter   #13
1-Man-Army
Member

 
1-Man-Army's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario Mississauga

 
ok guys the mod told me we should add a little more info then the mod will sticky it for sure!
1-Man-Army is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 05:35 PM   #14
LittlePiggie
Member

 
LittlePiggie's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Oregon

 
maybe how to find it on the other types?
LittlePiggie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 05:42 PM   #15
cw823
Honeybadger Moderator

 
cw823's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Earth

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by LittlePiggie
maybe how to find it on the other types?

__________________
I can explain it to you, but I cannot understand it for you

honeybadger moderator smacks the **** out of people that cause issues in the classified section

Heatware: cw823
Paypal: paypal @ cw823 dot com

Adak - My spreader bar was shaped using a pair of vise grips, a hammer, and the tow receiver on my pick up

Support your forum:
http://www.newegg.com/
cw823 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 05:44 PM   #16
Evnas
Member

 
Evnas's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Quote:
Note on sum video cards the rated speed is not always true u have to test to find out!
Thats true for any memory u buy. Not every single modual will do its rated speed.
Evnas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-26-03, 08:34 PM Thread Starter   #17
1-Man-Army
Member

 
1-Man-Army's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ontario Mississauga

 
im not sure if i can find all of them cause it looks like all of the companys use the same standard to find the specs for the ram cause i just checked out the hynix data sheets and it looks different but i can tell how much ns it has here linky http://www.hynix.com/products/dram/down/DDR_part_no.pdf this link also sums up all the stuff about the ram i found out with this data sheet that my ram use's 3.3v never knew
1-Man-Army is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?