Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Extreme Cooling
Extreme Cooling Below ambient cooling is extreme. The crazies discuss chillers, phase change, dry ice, & liquid nitrogen in here...
Forum Jump

recent article on propane cooling

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-03, 10:55 AM Thread Starter   #1
inspectorhammer
Member

 
inspectorhammer's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ohio

 
recent article on propane cooling


Im kicking myself for not bookmarking it now, but just a few days ago i saw an article about a propane cooling setup. It was on the front page of a pretty big hardware site. But now i cant find it!! Does anyone know of the one im talking about?

thanks
inspectorhammer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-03, 07:38 PM   #2
[EG]~NaTz~
Member



Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: pittsburgh pa

 
[EG]~NaTz~ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-03, 08:19 PM   #3
Napoleon
Member

 
Napoleon's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Richmond, VA

 
id be too afraid it blow up

__________________
Inspiron 6000 Pentium M 1.6 @ college

Barton Mobile XP2500@ 213 x 12.5 @ 2642
2x 256 mb XMS3500 2-3-3-11
NF7-S
Dual heatercores, Mag 3, DIY plexi res, Clearflex, Dtek Spiral Block
ti4600
Napoleon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-31-03, 09:46 PM   #4
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Napoleon
id be too afraid it blow up
From what? freon burns too, but some release chlorine gas as it does.
Propane needs to be mixed with air in a very narrow ratio to burn, your AC system don't have air in it, so no boom. It's also under pressure, so no flame could possibly chase inside the system (or in your house's gas pipes either) contrary to myth.
That craps done for the movies, just like night rider taking on the bikers.

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: QP-320-Res w/Gentle Typhoon's and metal screen filters Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2 Ф 1/4" Norprene tubing

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-03, 12:38 AM   #5
lclark2074
Member

 
lclark2074's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Coventry Rhode Island

 
I like propane because you do not need a licensee to work with it and its colder then moist common refrigerants like r12 r134a and r22

__________________
abit bx6r2 abit AI7
512 sd ram pc150 ddr1GB pc4200

celoron 600 oc 900 intel p4 2.8E
geforce fx 5200 AGP
Creative Labs Audigy2
overclocker seti team member
Avatar by ▄ber~PhLuBB
lclark2074 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-03, 03:47 AM   #6
aenigma
Member



Join Date: Jul 2002

 
Propane is not colder than R22.
Diggr is right, it won't blow up, if anything it will just burn.Just make sure you dont have any leaks and keep blow torches away from it.
aenigma is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-03, 10:11 AM   #7
Warlord2
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield,CA

 
hmm that just gave me an idea. Maybe I can just fill this thing up with propane and then torch everything and find my leak that way.
Warlord2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-03, 12:58 PM   #8
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
Why not pump it up and use soapy water? A match would work fine too cause the flame is so light (weight wise) that the slightest leak would blow it all over, though not necessarily lighting the leak.

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: QP-320-Res w/Gentle Typhoon's and metal screen filters Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2 Ф 1/4" Norprene tubing

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-03, 03:47 PM   #9
Warlord2
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield,CA

 
I have tryed soap and last weekend I tryed BLU leak detector wich foams when it finds a leak. Ive been getting the psi up to 350 and it drops done to 300 in like 10 mins but for the life of me I cant find any leak
Warlord2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-03, 08:26 PM   #10
Redwolf
Registered



Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lynnwood, WA

 
Are you only checking the piping.. Coils can leak too
The most comon spot is on the U bends or right were the metal braces are on the ends. The expantion of the different metals were small holes in the tubing

Funny thing is you say you pump the system up to 350psi and it drops 50psi in 10mins.. well bubbles may not show up with that big of a leak.. There is no way you couldnt hear a leak that big. Its no more than a whistle sound.. then feel around the area to pin pont it
Redwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-01-03, 08:42 PM   #11
Warlord2
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield,CA

 
lol yeah you would think I could hear it but I swear I looked all over the place and couldnt hear anything. I did find one leak that way and that was in my pressure gauge connection, once I tightend it a little it stopped. I will time it today to really get a accurate measurement of how fast its going down but Im sure it wasnt much longer than 10mins, I mean it went down before I could get all the leak detector even on
there are no leaks in my evap or my gauges now sense I would easly see them once I stick them in water.
Warlord2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-03, 05:09 AM   #12
Diggrr
Underwater Senior Member

 
Diggrr's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Gun Lake, MI. USA

10 Year Badge
 
I know this is a no brainer, but did you check the schraeder valve you're filling it from...those will leak easily if you get it too hot soldering it in. Even a speck of dust in it would leak at 350psi...

__________________
Rig1: C2D E8400 @3510 Ф Asus P5G41T-M-LX Plus mobo Ф 8 Gigs Ballistix DDR3 1333 Ф Asus GT520 Silent Ф 4 Deep Cool 92mm case fans Ф FSP 1U 460 Watt PSU
External Watercooling: QP-320-Res w/Gentle Typhoon's and metal screen filters Ф Cooling modded MCP350 & MCP355 W/Swiftech white dual pump top Ф D-Tek Fuzion V2 Ф 1/4" Norprene tubing

Life's Tragedy is that we get old too soon and wise too late. ~ Benjamin Franklin
Diggrr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-03, 10:06 AM   #13
Warlord2
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield,CA

 
Im just filling it with air to get it up to 350psi then on the schrader valves I screw there cap back on, I dont think they are leaking from those. Im thinking of just dumping this whole thing in my pool, I mean everything is closed isnt it? so it shouldnt hurt anything if I dry it off afterwords. I havent had time to look at it yet but I wish I had a stethacope(sp?) (the thing doctors use to listen to you breath). That would make it much easier
Warlord2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-03, 11:27 AM   #14
Redwolf
Registered



Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lynnwood, WA

 
Air eww.. CO2 would work just fine and is drier. I know its hard to get dry N2 if you dont have a supply.
Ya can dump the hole unit in the water with pressure.. np

You are filling up both sides at the same time so pressure settleing shouldn't be much of an issue... Not sure why your taking your gauges off after you pressurize if you are.
Just keep on.. you'll find it.
Redwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-03, 08:10 PM   #15
BOWMAN1964
Member

 
BOWMAN1964's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: VIRGINIA...USA

 
yea i am lucky and have nitrogen.
but i have a nice little 500 psi liquid fill gauge i use to test with.i test the evap seperate and then the condensor seperate with 300psi and i wait overnight with it sumerged under water.two reasons i leave it overnight.one i have seen such small leaks before that it will only start to form bubbles after a few hours (these are the leaks that takes weeks to even know you have one after the unit is running.)and two if my gauge is still sitting on 300 the next morning i will not have any problems.
i know it is a pain,but i dont have problems because of it.

put it under water you will find it.
BOWMAN1964 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-03, 08:42 PM   #16
Warlord2
Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bakersfield,CA

 
can I put the compressor under water too? everything is already hooked up so I cant really test them separate like you.
Warlord2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-03, 06:28 AM   #17
BOWMAN1964
Member

 
BOWMAN1964's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: VIRGINIA...USA

 
yes you can remove all the wire connections from the compressor.and it wont hurt it at all.make sure you remove the relay from the compressor.shouldnt be nothing left showing but 3 terminals sticking out the back of the compressor when you are finished,they are sealed.
BOWMAN1964 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-05-03, 01:52 PM   #18
johnnyw
Member

 
johnnyw's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Buenos Aires , Argentina

 
talking about compressors....... I have a pre-made phase change unit. The fact is that it does not have r12 ( the recommended refrigent for this compressor). Is there any way to lubricate it or make any type of service , as I got if for free and I doubt about the compressor┤s state.
johnnyw is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-06-03, 12:07 PM   #19
Redwolf
Registered



Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lynnwood, WA

 
Seal Hermetics arn't made to be serviced...
But that doesn't mean that you couldn't grind off the weld and open it up and do what you think you need to do. If thats what your asking.
Good luck finding parts.. seeing they don't sell them. If your thinking that too.
Redwolf is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-03, 05:33 PM   #20
couchpotato
Member

 
couchpotato's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NornIron

 
A little off topic - inspectorhammer did mention propane and
cooling in the same sentence

http://www.asciimation.co.nz/beer/

- this guy uses a jet engine and a gas bottle to cool his beer.
couchpotato is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Extreme Cooling
Extreme Cooling Below ambient cooling is extreme. The crazies discuss chillers, phase change, dry ice, & liquid nitrogen in here...
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?