• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Water sub-ambient temps

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Glaze132

Uh I've been watercooling since about June of 2002 and my water has always been about 3-5 degrees over ambient temp and I have been using basically the same setup since I started just different processors. Anyway I am still using the same candy thermometer that gave me the 3-5º over ambient and a couple of weeks ago it reversed now it is as much as 5ºF under ambient even using different thermometers to measure they all say below ambient. My question is do any of you have water at sub ambient temps without ice or whatever and just a radiator and fan?

Edit: I think I have an idea why they are sub-ambient. A while back my spir@ls lexan or whatever cracked so I didn't have anything but my old block but no clamp so I used air. And then for some reason I decided to put my radiator in boiling pot of tap water to clean my radiator but it didn't it just made the black kind of white so I am thinking that is calcium deposits possibly aiding in my cooling???

Last edited:
i thought that if everything was working correctly with a rad system, ie no active cooling, no pelts, no bongs, no water/ice on the rad, the best you could get is ambiant temps, arre you using the same thermo to measure your ambi temps?

yeah I just took the thermometer out of the water and it while in the water it read 76º and now that it is out it now reads 80º which is what my digital thermometer says and it feels that hot too.

do you have some sort of active cooling on the setup, or do you have a evaporation type setup?

If there is no evaporation or other form of active cooling then it is an absolute IMPOSSIBILITY for subambient temps, so you were correct in assuming that in the first place.