• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PS/2 ports not working, are they dead?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dace

Registered
I'm new to all this and was wondering if anyone could help me. My old motherboard died so I purchased a used one...it's a PC Chips M599LMR. I installed it and started my computer; first off, I have a Cyrix MII-333 processor and the new MoBo recognised it at 150MHz then it said the CMOS battery was low and gave me a "Keybord Error' message then it froze. I made sure the keyboard was well plugged into the PS/2 port, and replaced the battery. Again, it gave me the same thing. I plugged in a USB keyboard this time, started the computer and hit the DEL key to edit the CMOS. I fixed a few things there (date, time, CPU speed), saved it and exit...computer restarted into Win98 where I got an error message staing that the PS/2 mouse wasn't plugged in (even though it was). So I think the PS/2 ports are dead...am I right? Or do I have to set something for them to be recognised? I also think (unless I'm being paranoid), that this MoBo (MoFo? : ) screwed up my hard drive and killed my floppy drive (click of death). I read the specs on this MoBo and it seemed like a great one..but this used one seems to be junk. So are my PS/2 ports dead? Should I return it? Thanks for reading.

welcome to the forums, Dace!

Yah, it sounds to me like your PS2 ports are just dead. Unless they are turned off in BIOS, there's nothing to them- they just work. So either all your PS2 devices are dead (unlikely) or the ports are.

heh... and it's gotta be MoFo ;)

This is a really dumb question, but, are the mouse and keyboard plugs in the right holes? I only ask because I sometimes reverse them and get similar errors.