Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Overclocking with ASUS P2B-S... ~1GHz Possible? 89mhz AGP?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-01, 02:31 AM Thread Starter   #1
DezMFNutz
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2001

 
Overclocking with ASUS P2B-S... ~1GHz Possible? 89mhz AGP?


I have been reading about overclocking this board and have decided to get a PIII 700E (100mhz FSB) and a slotket adapter to put into my 3yr old P2B-S (gotta love the longevity of the 440BX)....

My question is, has anyone tried this? I was checking out a page at the Asus website (here) and it seems that my board will not support 133mhz fsb Coppermines....

But, would it still be possible to plug in the 100mhz fsb PIII and run it at an overclocked 133? (7 multiplier x 133mhz fsb = 933mhz) The PCI divider is 1/4, but the AGP divider is 2/3, so I think the video card may be the hangup...

Does anyone know what AGP speed a Matrox G450 Dualhead can support (please please please say 89mhz)? Do the new Radeon Dualhead cards support 89mhz AGP? How about the Twinview Duealhead cards?

If anyone knows or has tried any of these, please let me know. Help is appreciated.

-Rishi
DezMFNutz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 03-14-01, 01:51 PM   #2
DaveB
Senior Member

 
DaveB's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Gainesville, VA

10 Year Badge
 
As long as your boards supports the Coppermine and has the 1/4 PCI divider, you will be fine. As far as 89 MHz goes:

Matrox cards are probably OK;
Radeons are definitely OK; and
GeForce cards are good to 100 MHz+.

I have heard that your mobo does have a problem with power available at the CPU slot though. That's why the Asus site never recommended anything more than a PIII 450 Katmai, whitch has a 14.5 amp max current draw. Weird problems start happening in memory intensive apps with PIII 550 Katmai CPUs that can draw up to 17.0 amps. Since a PIII 700 has a max current draw of 14.0 amps that shouldn't be a problem at the default speed. But I wouldn't get anything faster since a PIII 800 can draw up to 16.0 amps and a PIII 933 can go to 17.7 amps. But, when you O/C, you could have problems since your CPU is gonna draw more amps. It all depends on the kinds of apps you run. Photoshop, in particular, has had problems with Asus P2B boards running SSE PIII CPUs. There's something about it at the Adobe website.
DaveB is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-01, 02:38 PM Thread Starter   #3
DezMFNutz
New Member



Join Date: Mar 2001

 
Quote:
DaveB (Mar 14, 2001 01:51 p.m.):
But, when you O/C, you could have problems since your CPU is gonna draw more amps.
I think I remember seeing that my board, because of its revision, supplies about 1.8V to the slotket. I think the slotket can regulate voltage to the PIII independently as well....

Assuming I use a nice Alpha cooler (will a PEP66 fit?) to dissapate heat, the PIII should get all the current it needs, right?

PS: Thanks for the quick reply and great info! Way to take care of newbies (ahhh, my first post)!!
DezMFNutz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-14-01, 05:30 PM   #4
DaveB
Senior Member

 
DaveB's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Gainesville, VA

10 Year Badge
 
The slotket contains a VRM which can regulate the voltage, but cannot set it lower than the motherboard can provide. 1.8V is fine.

The Apha PEP66 is made for a slotket and will fit any slot 1 motherboard, but might block a DIMM slot.

Make sure that Asus says your revision can support Coppermines. All Asus boards are definitely not created equal! The have a compatibility chart there, but just forget about the FC-PGA stuff. If your board can take a slot 1 Coppermine, it can deal with a slotket FC=PGA setup.
DaveB is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?