Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

A little help please with a P4 1.7ghz C1

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-03, 11:33 AM Thread Starter   #1
mongoled
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sotira, Cyprus

 
Exclamation A little help please with a P4 1.7ghz C1


Hello guys, Ive got a friends old P4 chip here and would like some info with regards to its overclockabilty.

Im just waitin on some parts so cant do anything with it yet so was hoping for some info abt this chip. Here are the stats:

1.7ghz/256/400/1.75v
SL5N9 Costa Rica
3125A791-1353

Ive read up a little and i know its a C1 core if this helps. I have very little knowledge of Pentium systems.

Thanxs

__________________
24/7 Settings
SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
Asus Crosshair V Formula
FX-8350 1244PGT | 5.0 Ghz | 1.55v | 1.20v | LLC UH 140%
GSkill RipjawsX F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD
313 x 16 | HTT 2504mhz | CPUNB 2504mhz | 2086mhz @ 9-12-9-29-50
Asus EAH5450 512MB
2 x Samsung 840 Pro's 128GB RAID 0
XSPC Raystorm | EK Full Motherboard Block | 1/2" ID
Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-D5 X-TOP Rev.2
Thermochill PA120.3 | 6 x 1850rpm Scythe GT @ 5v
EK-Multioption Advanced Res 400
mongoled is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-03, 11:48 AM   #2
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Well sorry to say but its not a C1 and its not a Northwood. Its an old willy. There slow and you can bearly overclock these buggers. I really don't know much on older P4's but just benchmark wise a 1.6a Northwood would beat that in tests without a problem. Correct me if im wrong on this.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-03, 11:50 AM   #3
mirko_3
Member

 
mirko_3's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Italy

 
correct. my willy's overclock is something rare... and it's a very bad overclock compared to northwoods...
mirko_3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-03, 12:57 PM   #4
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Wow that is a rare overclock for a willy.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-03, 04:15 PM   #5
flapperhead
Senior Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: wash dc area

 
well guy u are right it is a c1 stepping . unfortunately its a c1 stepping based on the older 18 micron process.sorry, Its not gonna crank up very well.If you are new to p4's i see how you could confuse it with the newer northwoods...
flapperhead is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-03, 01:31 PM Thread Starter   #6
mongoled
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sotira, Cyprus

 
Thanks for confirming that guys for me, as for confusing it with a Northwood (flapperhead) who mentioned northwood? lol.

So this is a 0.18micron chip, what were these called? Is it the Williamete core, something along those lines i think. Well i will pass the bad news onto my friend. What sort of overclock do u think Im looking at minimum wise, a 100mhz or so?

Cos if thats the case I wont bother getting better cooling for the chip.

Thanxs again any moer information would be gladly accepted.

L8rz guys.

__________________
24/7 Settings
SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
Asus Crosshair V Formula
FX-8350 1244PGT | 5.0 Ghz | 1.55v | 1.20v | LLC UH 140%
GSkill RipjawsX F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD
313 x 16 | HTT 2504mhz | CPUNB 2504mhz | 2086mhz @ 9-12-9-29-50
Asus EAH5450 512MB
2 x Samsung 840 Pro's 128GB RAID 0
XSPC Raystorm | EK Full Motherboard Block | 1/2" ID
Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-D5 X-TOP Rev.2
Thermochill PA120.3 | 6 x 1850rpm Scythe GT @ 5v
EK-Multioption Advanced Res 400
mongoled is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-03, 02:52 PM   #7
tio
Member

 
tio's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hyrule

 
I used to have that same chip. I got it up to 1954 MHz at 1.85v after running it @ 1904 MHz for a couple of months.

__________________

2.4C (SL6Z3) @ 3.9 GHz w/ 1.70v (FSB = 325 MHz | System Bus = 1.3 GHz)
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (rev. 1.02) "droop", vDIMM, and vAGP modded with heatsinks on all FETs, Southbridge, and clock generator
Prometeia Mach I
Corsair XMS 3500 [BH-5 chips] (2 x 512MB) @ 2-6-2-2 w/ 3.23v
eVGA 6800 GT @ 435 core / 1173 mem (modified BIOS - 1.4v)
2 x 74 GB Raptors in RAID-0 (64K stripe size)
Antec TruePower 550

"I woke up today thinking I will one day die. I wonder if one day I'll wake up thinking that I'm going to live."
tio is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-03, 03:55 PM   #8
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
If you're lucky, a Willamette might hit 2 gig with good cooling, but usually not a lot more.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-03, 04:59 PM Thread Starter   #9
mongoled
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sotira, Cyprus

 
Hmm when i was looking in the mobos bios I couldnt find an option to adjust the voltage. The mobo is a GB-8IDX, I downloded the latest bios and still no Vcore adjustments.

:-(

Looks like hes gonna have to do with a tiny overclock. I dont know if this is relevant to the chip or not but when running prime95 some runs will crash on the first run whilst others will run for ages without a problem.



If this makes any sense to anybody Id be glad to hear from you.

Thanxs to all again.

__________________
24/7 Settings
SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
Asus Crosshair V Formula
FX-8350 1244PGT | 5.0 Ghz | 1.55v | 1.20v | LLC UH 140%
GSkill RipjawsX F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD
313 x 16 | HTT 2504mhz | CPUNB 2504mhz | 2086mhz @ 9-12-9-29-50
Asus EAH5450 512MB
2 x Samsung 840 Pro's 128GB RAID 0
XSPC Raystorm | EK Full Motherboard Block | 1/2" ID
Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-D5 X-TOP Rev.2
Thermochill PA120.3 | 6 x 1850rpm Scythe GT @ 5v
EK-Multioption Advanced Res 400
mongoled is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-03, 05:54 PM   #10
tio
Member

 
tio's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Hyrule

 
You could try the willamette vidpin mod to raise the voltage to 1.85v: http://www.vr-zone.com/guides/p4mod/

I did this to my Willamette and it worked perfectly. If you decide to do this, just make sure you're carefull.

__________________

2.4C (SL6Z3) @ 3.9 GHz w/ 1.70v (FSB = 325 MHz | System Bus = 1.3 GHz)
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe (rev. 1.02) "droop", vDIMM, and vAGP modded with heatsinks on all FETs, Southbridge, and clock generator
Prometeia Mach I
Corsair XMS 3500 [BH-5 chips] (2 x 512MB) @ 2-6-2-2 w/ 3.23v
eVGA 6800 GT @ 435 core / 1173 mem (modified BIOS - 1.4v)
2 x 74 GB Raptors in RAID-0 (64K stripe size)
Antec TruePower 550

"I woke up today thinking I will one day die. I wonder if one day I'll wake up thinking that I'm going to live."
tio is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-03, 11:42 AM   #11
Wedge1212
Member

 
Wedge1212's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Waco / Coppell, Texas

 
heh, my 1.7 is a freak'n mosnster compared to most willies.....check out the sig. It can be done if your chip loves you
Wedge1212 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?