Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

tempermental k7s5a

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-03, 12:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
godpickny_jm
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Jamaica

 
tempermental k7s5a


Can anyont help ...my board will be working fine one minute then it stops...reboots and will not post...black screen...no power to the cdrom...fans spinning. It stay that way after many retries fo hours then the next day power on ...post and then boots fine.
I have the latest bios from ecs thinking that would solve the problem...no luck.
Whats wrong with this board? I wonder if its because I'm usung sdram?
Any ideas

64MB geforce2mx
sblive sound
1700+ volcano 9 max Temp = 50c
godpickny_jm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-10-03, 12:19 PM   #2
palee72
Member

 
palee72's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

 
There have been many problems with this board...

Some say it is because of the SDRAM.. I have this board and still use SDRAM pc133 and it works fine..

I'm more inclined to say that it is the power supply. These boards seem to be really power hungry. Although you may run a 350 or 400watt PSU, your rails may not have enough current to run the board. Check in the cases and powersupply forum for some really informative info on PSU's.

Also, make sure that your ATX connector is properly seated and that the pins are making good contact.

Make sure your board is secured right. If it is grounding out on the case, that will cause random reboots. As the case heats up inside, the board will flex ever so slightly.. It could be shorting/gounding out.

Check your temps on the CPU. I don't remember if that board has temp warning on it or not. If it does (I don't think so, but yours may) make sure you aren't going above your top temp threshold.

Also, besure to check out the FAQ sticky. Good information in there too.

Hope I was a little help..

__________________
System:
Motherboard: ASUS M4A78T-E
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945 @ 3Ghz
RAM: G.SKILL NS 4GB (2 x 2GB) (PC3 10600)
CPU Cooling: AMD Stock
Case Cooling: Side mounted blue led fan
Case: Some silver case I picked up someplace. It holds my stuff..
palee72 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-03, 12:35 PM Thread Starter   #3
godpickny_jm
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Jamaica

 
thanks dude I guess it could be the power supply...generic 300w...the only problem is the 3v rail which hovers around 3.1v.
I run MBM so i have no problems with temps
I'll check the faqs
godpickny_jm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-03, 12:40 PM   #4
james.miller
Member

 
james.miller's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Dunstable, uk

 
i cant believe that any half-decent 300w+ psu would have problems. my board was stable as a rock with a 350w generic psu powering an xp1800@1.8ghz and a gf4 mx. and that had what would be concidered to be low rails.

__________________
The HTPC

E2160 @ 2.7ghz | Thermaltake The Orb cooler | Asus p5w-dh | 4Gb DDR-II pc6400| 1.00Tb of WD AAKS storage | Asus Xonar D2| 360 HD-DVD drive
Pioneer bd204 bluray sata drive | Corsair HX620w PSU | BFG GeForce 8800GTX | Silverstone SST-LC17b
| 22" dell e228wfp | 40" 1080p SONY 40w2000

ONKYO TX-SR805 | bi-amped mission m71i fronts | eltax center & bipolar rears
2x 12" custom built subwoofers powered by a denon pma-100m | PS3 with linux and a 250gb 3.5" internal drive | Nintendo wii



Last edited by james.miller; 04-11-03 at 01:28 AM.
james.miller is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-03, 11:16 PM   #5
cheong
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: hk

 
i am using 145watt with 2 hdd
it works stable
cheong is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-03, 10:52 PM Thread Starter   #6
godpickny_jm
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Jamaica

 
screw ecs now im back to my backup k7v wait 700Athlon...waiting for epox 8rga or better
godpickny_jm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-14-03, 06:45 AM   #7
palee72
Member

 
palee72's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

 
good choice..

__________________
System:
Motherboard: ASUS M4A78T-E
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945 @ 3Ghz
RAM: G.SKILL NS 4GB (2 x 2GB) (PC3 10600)
CPU Cooling: AMD Stock
Case Cooling: Side mounted blue led fan
Case: Some silver case I picked up someplace. It holds my stuff..
palee72 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?