• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

XP 2000+ Overclocking Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

irish80122

Have any of you had much success overclocking this chip? I have an OEM version of it that I got about a year ago, but I have never been able to OC it very well (granted I am a OC newbie but still). I haven't messed much with multipliers yet, but maybe that is what I need to do. The best I can get it to do is 12.5x 140 to give me a 1.75, which is ****ty. I have a decent OCing motherboard, and good RAM so I am not sure what else my problem could be. What success have you had with this kind of chip? My vcore is at 1.85 in case you were wondering.

You should be able to do better thna that I would think. I just picked up a 1900 pally and I'm hitting the wall at 143fsb and 13x multiplier for 1727mhz. Am looking at unlocking it next, AOIGA or whatever that s**ty stepping is.

I was able to get mine running at about 1775 MHz (12.5 x 142) stable, with the stock HSF, so I would say if you have decent cooling you should be able to get at least another 100-200 MHz out of it.

I had that chip, but I gave it to a friend for a cheap price. I could only get to a 145FSB with my best heatsink and fan combo. I hope you weren't expecting a high FSB with that thing. I didn't expect much and the funny thing is that I didn't get much.

I can tell you though that your mobo, (MSI version of NForce2 if memory serves me right.) is a good mobo for overclocking, I have one, definitely isn't your problem.