• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best of the Best?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MetalStorm

Im quite new to all this stuff about motherboards and the like and i have been reading through to see what everyone thinks of the different ones out, but im really confused as to what really is the best out there, im planning on getting a new motherboard very soon and I could do with a hand in making the right choice.

I have heard good things about a lot of mobos, but which really is the best in terms of overclocking performance? What im really confused about at the moment is which of the new motherboards really is the best, you have the NF7-S of which the rev 2 is apparently very good, theres the A7N8X deluxe rev 2 which is also good apparently, not to mention the to-be-released A7N8X Ultra, and the Soyo boards, and judging from this thread the Soltek SL-75FRN2-L model is worth a look too...

Also what is "A1 Stepping" (or any types of stepping for that matter!) Does it make an important impact on the overclocking potential? Another thing, is it worth waiting for ultra to be released or should i try and find a rev 2 board and not wait?

Thank you for your time in reading this, and thanks in advance for any light you guys can shed on my questions :)

From what I can gather the Abit NF7-S rev 2 is the best. As far as stepping goes I don't really know what it is, but I do know it does have an impact on overclocking. As far as waiting for ultra, thats up to you. You could wait for it to come out the pick up one of todays board at a lower price, but once again thats up to you.

most times it comes down to personal preferance as to whats the "best"
what to look for in a great ocing mobo.
1.high voltage options in bios
2.ability to run high fsb
3.ease of use without modding it.
4.stability