• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Wire management tips?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MrHatchet87

Registered
Okay... I'm already planning on sleeving my PSU cables sometime soon, but, do you guys have any other tips for tidying up the wire mess in my case? Problem is that I'm using a SF-201T, which has windows on both sides, as well as a top window, so hiding cables behind the MB tray, or above the PSU doesn't exactly work... so, what would be the best way to hide extra PSU cables and other stray wires?

Oh yes, and, I'm a relative noob when it comes to computers, what's the 6 wire plug for? (Wires go black, black, black, orange, orange, red). Is it something I might need in the future? Or can I just snip the thing off entirely?

Well, for tidying up wires I like using zip-ties. They're easy to use, not too noticable and easy to remove if you have a pair of dykes (I can hear the jokes rolling in now) :)

One tip that I have been told a few times and plan on using soon, is to leave the top CD drive bay (5.whatever inch), and use that space to store wires and all. Rounded cables help, and I heard that some people hide their wires behind their motherboards.

Rabid Snail said:
One tip that I have been told a few times and plan on using soon, is to leave the top CD drive bay (5.whatever inch), and use that space to store wires and all. Rounded cables help...

I do that, but its one of the middle bays that I use. It works pretty nicely.

I've heard of people using heat-shrink tubing, but I wouldn't ever want to get an open flame to close to my wires. I think the person that tried this ended up melting his PSU wires and had to get a new one.