• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

General Computer help please

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

stan03

:confused:Im new at this building computer stuff, so can everyone critique this for me? Im all open to ideas, and im not building this until summer so iv got lots of time...

Intel Pentium 4 Processor 3.06GHz
Radeon 9800 Pro or 9700 Pro...
Corsair RAM TWINX1024-2700LLPT (Don't need it any faster bc my processor won't utilize the extra speed)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2
Antec TrueBlue 480 Power Supply
Gigabyte Motherboard GA-SINXP1394 (GA-8SQ800 Ultra2)
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 SATA 80GB
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 9 Ata 133 60GB
CD-RW Drive HELP HERE (Recommendations)
DVD Drive HELP HERE (Recommendations)
Zalaman Heatsink CNPS7000-Cu
Vantec Nexus Fan Controller
Blower Fan

For CDRW and DVD I'd go for a pair of Lite-On drives. They're about the most reliable there are and amongst the cheapest too. I, myself, have a 40X12X48X and 16X DVD from Lite-On. Both are great.

Everything else looks to be OK. I'm not a big fan of Gigabyte boards, but I'm also not an Intel user so they may be fine on that side of the fence. The Audigy 2 also wouldn't be my first choice in sound as I'm a former Creative user that's switched to Turtle Beach (the Revolution 7.0 is supposed to be nice too).

Those are just my opinions/recommendations. Hope there are more to compare with...never know what may be along in the next couple of months to change your list anyway :]

I have a turtle beach on my comp right now. if i really don't like the audigy (i think it will be fine) i can always switch.

stan03, are you really stuck on intel? or is your list very preliminary? i won't bother trying to help if you really want intel as i don't know much about them. but if you are open to any and all suggestions i have a few. :)