• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

im new here and need help...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

slaytalera

im new to overclocking an di cant find a way to over clock my AMD Duron proccessoer. I practictcaly read every thing in the begginers guides and experiences but nothing on Durons. CAN ANYONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!

Raise the FSB speed in the BIOS, just remember not to set it too high or else your HD might corrupt. Of course, it depends on what board you have.

You can't change the multiplier on a Duron without unlocking it.

Ok...what board, ram, etc...

I would try upping the FSB to 166 first and see if that helps at all. I don't know much about Durons, since I'm a youngin' so if 166 is wrong anyone can correct me freely. :)

HEY WELCOME TO THE FORUMS :D

back to topic, your duron will probably not reach 166 since it's default FSB is 100 so it would be a big step forward without adjusting the multiplier (but first you have to unlock it) :D. Let's start out with what kind of motherboard you have, the RAMs, and anything you can tell us about your system. :D

See there, so you may want to try a fsb of like 120-133...see if that helps. Or since its a duron board, dont you have to use dip switches? I guess your only fsb option may be 133.

altec said:
Ok...what board, ram, etc...

I would try upping the FSB to 166 first and see if that helps at all. I don't know much about Durons, since I'm a youngin' so if 166 is wrong anyone can correct me freely. :)
Well that is my job isn't it :D

166fsb should work fine as long as the rest of your system is up to par, but you will need to lower your multiplier first ;)