Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

motherboard troubles

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-03, 03:08 PM Thread Starter   #1
TheNamelessOne
Member

 
TheNamelessOne's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: under a killing moon

 
Unhappy motherboard troubles


Here's my story. After putting my new rig together (soltek sl-75frn2-L, 1700+ Tbred B, 512mb of corsair xms 3200, 350w antec psu, 60gb 2mb maxtor, slk-800 that I got from my other computer) I put everything together and it worked just beautifully. Well I decided I want better temps and it's time to try lapping the heatsink. So I did that, reapplied the thermal paste, put heatsink back on, only now NO POST! No beeps either. I switched out the mobo for an asus a7v266-e and it booted fine and i was able to get in the bios, so I'm pretty sure it's my mobo. Now here's something weird, I checked the voltages with a multimeter while the defective motherboard was in and power was on and the voltages were fluctuating like crazy, the numbers would change every second. When I checked the voltages on my asus mobo, same powersupply, the voltages were rock solid. Also the monitor keeps trying to turn on every few seconds. Does anyone have any idea on what could have happend? Do I need to RMA this board to googlegear? 30 days hasen't passed yet.

P.S. Could a damaged capacitator have caused this?
TheNamelessOne is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-03, 03:19 PM   #2
sangapski
Member

 
sangapski's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: north cali

 
im not quite sure what happened to your board but
i suggest you RMA it coz everything else work on a diff board ...
sangapski is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-03, 04:53 PM   #3
jeepcreep
Registered

 
jeepcreep's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: PA

 
Maybe try resetting the CMOS.
jeepcreep is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-03, 06:54 PM   #4
irish80122
Member

 
irish80122's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Centennial, CO

 
Another option is try having it boot with the absolute minimum settings (such as a 100 fsb) and see if it works for you. Soemtimes for some reason on mine resetting CMOS doesn't do it, but doing that does. Also, maybe play around with your memory some, I have had problems there as well. Good luck!

__________________
AMD XP 2500+ Barton aquca0306upcw @2.30 GHz (11.5*200) @1.95V . Epox 8RDA3+, 786 MB Corsair PC3200, 80 GIG WD 7200 RPM HD, MSI GeForce 4 TI4200.

Watercooling Pump-CPU-NB-Rez-Rad
Maze4 CPU block, Dangerden NB Waterblock, Dtek Bayrez, Dtek Pro Radiator, Hydor L30 pump

Temps: Ambient 26, System 32, CPU 41 at full load. Not bad I guess.

Top 1000 in folding finally!!!Go 32!!!
irish80122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-03, 01:12 AM   #5
fubulg6000
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003

 
I'm guessing you either scrapped something when you installed your hsf. Or, if you installed the hsf while the motherboard was in place in its case, it may have bent enough to cause damage. Either way, rma the sucker.
fubulg6000 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-03, 01:32 AM Thread Starter   #6
TheNamelessOne
Member

 
TheNamelessOne's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: under a killing moon

 
I did install the heatsink when the motherboard was in the case, is that a bad practice? Oh and irish how can I change the settings when I can't get into the bios. Guess it's RMA time.
TheNamelessOne is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-03, 02:01 AM   #7
Guero
Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bartlett, IL (Chicago 'Burbs)

10 Year Badge
 
I have changed heatsinks with the motherboard installed. Never had any trouble. Just have to be extra careful especially if you are using a screwdriver to reinstall the heatsink. Check the board to see if you accidentally bumped something.

__________________
My Heatware
Guero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-03, 11:37 AM   #8
irish80122
Member

 
irish80122's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Centennial, CO

 
Quote:
Originally posted by TheNamelessOne
I did install the heatsink when the motherboard was in the case, is that a bad practice? Oh and irish how can I change the settings when I can't get into the bios. Guess it's RMA time.
Depends on the board, on mine I have to change a jumper down to the 100 mhz setting, but most boards are much easier. Try booting while holding down the insert key and see what happens, good luck!

__________________
AMD XP 2500+ Barton aquca0306upcw @2.30 GHz (11.5*200) @1.95V . Epox 8RDA3+, 786 MB Corsair PC3200, 80 GIG WD 7200 RPM HD, MSI GeForce 4 TI4200.

Watercooling Pump-CPU-NB-Rez-Rad
Maze4 CPU block, Dangerden NB Waterblock, Dtek Bayrez, Dtek Pro Radiator, Hydor L30 pump

Temps: Ambient 26, System 32, CPU 41 at full load. Not bad I guess.

Top 1000 in folding finally!!!Go 32!!!
irish80122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?