• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Cooling nub needs some help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

thesoupnazi

Registered
I'm new to overclocking, but very interested also. I've read up on it, but the only thing that worries me is cooling. Everything I have in my comp is stock right now, and my question is: Is it worth it to buy fans, water cooling etc to increase the performance of my comp, and if so, any basics that I need to buy just to start off?
Any input appreciated.

AMD Athlon XP 2000+
512 MB DDR ram... forgot the pc of it and I'm away from home
Currently Geforce 2 integrated, but I'm bringing in the Radeon 9700 Pro
Not sure of the mobo :/ Have to check
Wait, I just realized - If I had Geforce 2 Integrated Mobo, that means I have to get different mobo for the Radeon?

Anyways, I was looking at some cases at www.coolerguys.com and I'm thinking of grabbin this one http://www.coolerguys.com/Merchant2...oduct_Code=840556045496&Category_Code=CS-Wind
Not sure what else to include... I'm tired.

You might need a new motherboard you might not. If you open your case and look at it do you see a brown/red/blue slot thats offset like this?:

{SPACE} ____ <agp
___ <PCI
___<PCI
___<PCI

If you have the agp slot you probably wouldnt need a new mobo. However if your mobo isnt too good for overclocking anyways i might suggest a 100 dollar investment in an epox 8rda+... Unless you dont have the correct ram for it... If you are in for serious overclocking the best way to go (My opinion im not pushing this as fact) is epox 8rda+, some good ram, and either an slk900 with a big loud fan over it or watercooling.

Yeah, go with what Excelsior said, go get the SLK-900 w/92mm fan or, if you are willing to spend the money, look into watercooling.