Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

what to get for 150bucks?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-03, 08:33 PM Thread Starter   #1
ps2
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
Smile what to get for 150bucks?


hi,iam not sure if i buy a ram or a power supply i have 256mb kingston pc2700 and it can handle up to 440mhz with 2.9v and a 250 watt FSP powersupply.i know i have to change both of them but which one will you start with i have p4 2.4@2.970mhz to 165 fsb with 1.7v. which one will you choose corsair 512mb pc3500 or enermax 550watt?.thks..
ps2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-03, 08:46 PM   #2
WejRepus
Member

 
WejRepus's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Redwood City, CA

 
id get a PSU first...
but if your current PSU is running strong, then there may be no need to upgrade. however, for future upgrades sake, you might want to have a decent grade PSU already so that future decisions on purchases arnt affected by that fact that upgrading something means also forking over 100 bucks for a new PSU
WejRepus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-03, 09:30 PM   #3
Mastametz
Member

 
Mastametz's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Stanwood, WA

10 Year Badge
 
I would say psu...if you are considering buying a new psu, you imply that something is wrong with it or it is not good enough. If this is so, then is could damage your hardware or not be able to run w/the new ram or both.

__________________

Lenovo Thinkpad T510

/Desktop is Sold/
2500k @ Stock
ASrock Extreme3 Gen3
60gb Vertex 3 SSD (Cache)/1tb Seagate Barricuda
MSI Twin Frozr II GTX 580 TI @ Stock
2x4GB Patriot 1600 CAS8
XFX 850w Core Edition
Corsair 500r
My Heatware
Mastametz is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-03, 09:41 PM Thread Starter   #4
ps2
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
my psu gives 3.3V:3.02 5.5V:4.97-5.08 at %100 load and i set the cpu voltage to 1.8v it decrease to 1.70v is it because icant go further?i mean 165 fsb is the end for me. my cpu is 2,4sl6ef(3302)costarica it must be better than that!.if iset the memory speed to lower then the 440mhz i think it can handle more fsb speeds.i think my problem is not enough power you suggest me to buy the Enermax EG651P-VE(FMA) 550W ? that is 155$ in directron?
http://www.directron.com/peg651pfma.html
ps2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-03, 09:45 PM Thread Starter   #5
ps2
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Mastametz
I would say psu...if you are considering buying a new psu, you imply that something is wrong with it or it is not good enough. If this is so, then is could damage your hardware or not be able to run w/the new ram or both.
ididnt know that but how could the small size power supply could damage the hardware will you tell me about it?
ps2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-03, 09:59 PM Thread Starter   #6
ps2
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
how about vantec 520 stealth watt powersupply 119$ will you recommend it? and also antec true 550watt cheapest
101$ ?
ps2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-03, 10:01 PM   #7
WejRepus
Member

 
WejRepus's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Redwood City, CA

 
i have the vantec 470 and i like it, but i kind of wish i went with the antec 550
WejRepus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-03, 10:24 PM   #8
RickyTwoGuns
Registered

 
RickyTwoGuns's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL

 
i like the antec 550.
RickyTwoGuns is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-03, 10:32 PM   #9
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
I have the Antec 550 true control and like it.

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-01-03, 10:34 PM   #10
hitechjb1
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
I am looking at the Antec TP 550. Is it worth the $20-30 to get the True Control 550 which is the TP 550 plus a front panel with fan control and fine adjustment for 3.3, 5 and 12V. Is that extra control useful?

__________________

Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
A64 Overclocking Result Collection
Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
- DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
- ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
- ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
- Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display
hitechjb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-03, 03:34 AM   #11
Hookem
Member

 
Hookem's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Question is...do you really need a 500+ watt power supply??? I mean a 400 watt Fortron/Sparkle is a brute

__________________
If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

Switching to Intel
Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
In progress build.
Hookem is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-03, 03:44 AM   #12
sangapski
Member

 
sangapski's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: north cali

 
why not go with a 512mb PC3200 ram and a 350-400watt Sparkel/Fortron PSU...

coz you can probably get both for around $150

but if you dont want a PC3200 ram then get the PSU first...
sangapski is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-03, 10:32 AM Thread Starter   #13
ps2
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
i ordered this EG651P-VE (FMA) 550w enermax from directron for 155$ what you guys think?
ps2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-03, 11:31 AM Thread Starter   #14
ps2
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
here is the current voltages with my 250 watt powersupply installed 3 case fans 1 harddisk 1 cdrom and a motherboard also are these voltages too low?

ps2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-03, 11:53 AM   #15
Oklahoma Wolf
Senior Warranty Validity Sealed Stick Remover

 
Oklahoma Wolf's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Saskatchewan

10 Year Badge
 
Those voltages look fine to me. FSP/Sparkle 250's are vastly underrated and can put out a whole lot more than 250 watts. It'll make a great backup PSU in case you have trouble with the new one.

__________________
Asus P8Z68 Pro-V Gen3
2500K w/ Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws
Inwin GRone, Corsair AX860i
MSI 280X, Asus 270 2GB
250GB Samsung 840 Evo, 640GB WD Black, 2TB Samsung F4, 3TB Seagate 7200.14
Lite-On iHAS324, LG BH14NS40

Oklahoma Wolf is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-03, 08:29 PM Thread Starter   #16
ps2
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
i think i will use this 250watt Fsp to my other comp. and i dont know what iam going to do with 550w enermax
ps2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 12:54 AM   #17
Silver
Senior Citizen (aka old fart)

 
Silver's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Dallas, Georgia

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Hookem
Question is...do you really need a 500+ watt power supply??? I mean a 400 watt Fortron/Sparkle is a brute
Had an Antec 403 (and still do) however at 2v core, 2.84v ram, 9500 (at 438/600) The psu was cutting out. I really liked the psu and it held me for many, many boards and oc's but would not hold up on the above setup. The new true control does. Now I admit that I run a little extreme at times what with dual tecs and all however the psu is the one thing that I do not wish to worry about and no longer do. I guess that the question might better be phrased in "How hard are you going to push your setup"?

__________________

Xeons 1.6LV at 3.2Ghz
3000+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
2800+ (754) at 2.5Ghz
P4 2.8C-478 at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 315D at 3.4Ghz
Celeron 310D at 3.0Ghz
Celeron 335D at 3.7Ghz
Celeron 315D at 2.8Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.2Ghz
C2D E6300 at 3.0Ghz

FOLDING FOR TEAM 32 - 30.7 Ghz

Avatar by Shocker - Many Thanks Sir!
Silver is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 12:32 PM Thread Starter   #18
ps2
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2003

 
how is this enermax that iam getting? it says 218$regular price in directron and on sale 155$
ps2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 07:07 PM   #19
bdw8
Member

 
bdw8's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Virginia, US of A

 
Quote:
Originally posted by ps2

ididnt know that but how could the small size power supply could damage the hardware will you tell me about it?
If you undersupply something, it could catch on fire. It happened to my mobo a while back. Heh. I would say you go with a smaller psu for $90 USD (Antec 430W Power Supply TRUE430 at Newegg) and then you have some money left over for another stick of 256mb of ram.
bdw8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 08:53 PM   #20
the hammer
Member

 
the hammer's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Riding my Yamaha YZF1000 & chasing Hot chicks in Charleston, SC

 
Re: what to get for 150bucks?


Quote:
Originally posted by ps2
hi,iam not sure if i buy a ram or a power supply i have 256mb kingston pc2700 and it can handle up to 440mhz with 2.9v and a 250 watt FSP powersupply.i know i have to change both of them but which one will you start with i have p4 2.4@2.970mhz to 165 fsb with 1.7v. which one will you choose corsair 512mb pc3500 or enermax 550watt?.thks..
Most definately a new PSU...you never know...you may even get more FSB stability with your ram with a GOOD power Supply.

Hammer
the hammer is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?