Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

AGP Aperature Size

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-03-03, 12:44 AM Thread Starter   #1
tcg23
Registered



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Virginia

 
AGP Aperature Size


could someone please explain this setting in a motherboards BIOS, is it good to set the AGP Aperature size to the same amount of Video RAM you have? Any info greatly appreciated!
-TheComputerGuy23
tcg23 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 12:47 AM   #2
timmyqwest
Disabled

 
timmyqwest's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: illinois

 
From what i understand...

This is the amount of ram that you will set aside in the event that your video cards ram runs out, that is if you have 128mb of ram and a pretty swan that flys over the screen takes up another 64mb of ram and you run out....it will access your system ram.

I've heard that setting it a little less then your GPU is usually a good idea...again i could be wrong

but thats what i think it is
timmyqwest is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 12:48 AM   #3
pip
Member

 
pip's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oregon, The InteLinux State

 
Re: AGP Aperature Size


Quote:
Originally posted by tcg23
could someone please explain this setting in a motherboards BIOS, is it good to set the AGP Aperature size to the same amount of Video RAM you have? Any info greatly appreciated!
-TheComputerGuy23
the AGP aperature is basically extra video ram, so at about 256 in the aperature it would max out the agp bandwidth
pip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 12:52 AM Thread Starter   #4
tcg23
Registered



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Virginia

 
Thanks for the quick reply!
-TheComputerGuy23
tcg23 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 12:54 AM   #5
OC-Master
Member

 
OC-Master's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

 
Either half the amount of system memory in your computer or the max that your motherboard supports.


OC-Master

__________________
RIG:
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI | 1805:Bios
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ | 2733MHz
4.00GB OCZ PC3200 | 400MHz 2-3-2-5-2T
2.00TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (4X500)
1.00GB Radeon HD 4870 | CORE/MEM 790 / 3840
Creative X-Fi Fatality Champion Platinum
OCZ 850Watt Xtreme PSU | MS Windows Vista Ultimate x64 Edition
Acer 26" Wide LCD 1920X1200 5ms | Sunbeam Fully Mod BlueUV Acrylic Case
OC-Master is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 12:55 AM   #6
pip
Member

 
pip's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oregon, The InteLinux State

 
Quote:
Originally posted by OC-Master
Either half the amount of system memory in your computer or the max that your motherboard supports.


OC-Master
I like your new girl master
pip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 12:59 AM   #7
timmyqwest
Disabled

 
timmyqwest's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: illinois

 
Quote:
Originally posted by pip


I like your new girl master
ehh, she was ok...i mean she was fun but, i've had better
timmyqwest is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 01:00 AM   #8
pip
Member

 
pip's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oregon, The InteLinux State

 
Quote:
Originally posted by timmyqwest


ehh, she was ok...i mean she was fun but, i've had better
you wish you've had any
pip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 01:03 AM   #9
timmyqwest
Disabled

 
timmyqwest's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: illinois

 
Quote:
Originally posted by pip


you wish you've had any
...yea...yea your right actually
timmyqwest is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-03, 01:05 AM   #10
pip
Member

 
pip's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oregon, The InteLinux State

 
Quote:
Originally posted by timmyqwest


...yea...yea your right actually
it'll happen someday Timbo *cough*not*cough*
pip is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?