Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Must say 2 thumbs up on this board

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-03, 09:29 PM Thread Starter   #1
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
Must say 2 thumbs up on this board


Well I had planned to go Intel but then the cost of board and chip scared me away and I had committed to selling my 8RDA+ and 1700 Tbred which screamed along prett darn good.

So once sold I was out a board and chip so I decided to try the Soltek 75FRN2-L and a Tbred 1700 JIUHB XPMW 0310 DLT3C.

Snap setting it all up and off the bat 11 x @200 fsb with 1.60 vcore and vdimm at 2.7 using timing settings of 5-2-2-2 on the OCZ PC3500 EL DDR 2x256. Sandra scores coming in around 3090/2920. Not too shabby , now I am at 11 x 205 stable as a rock and I am sure I can go 215-220 x10.5 for some serious bandwidth. Board came with latest bios D1.1L and the chip runs really cool. The board and chip cost me an extra 20 after I sold my stuff and my 8RDA+ would not go as high, however it offered the firewire and better onboard sound by FAR.

But fopr what I spent I am happy how about you others with the Soltek board ??

Cisco Kid
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 05-05-03, 01:41 AM Thread Starter   #2
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
new report running 210fsb at 11 multi 5-3-2-2

WOW

cisco kid
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-03, 03:16 PM   #3
drewthomas14
Member

 
drewthomas14's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

 
which multipliers do you have access to?
drewthomas14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-03, 01:12 AM Thread Starter   #4
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
I have access to multipliers from 5 to 18. This board is excellent, I ran 215 fsb with same timings as below no issues 1.625 vcore and 2.7 vdimm , but I am sure the ram will run 5-2-2-2. I just tested this quickly as its late and I have to crash.

Truthfully for what this board costs I give it 2 thumbs up, much easier overclocker than my version 1.1 8RDA+ was, also it comes actvely cooled and I have addeed nothing to the SB. Will run more tests towards weekend. BTW at 210 FSB I scored 3241/3051. My ram is OCZ PC3500 EL DDR 2x256.

Cisco KId
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-03, 03:51 PM   #5
drewthomas14
Member

 
drewthomas14's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

 
awesome bandwidth. do you think i should get it at googlegear.com for $92 shipped or wait for newegg to lower their price from $105. i wish i would have got it when it was $79.99 at newegg ,but i just got my first job after the prices started going up.
drewthomas14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-03, 11:39 PM Thread Starter   #6
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
I would grab it for 92 as you do not know when newegg.com will drop price again. IMHO the 75FRN2-L board represents excellent value. Yours will do exactly what mine does I have seen alot of consistency from users with the same board on various sites.

And yeah the bandwidth I am getting is serious and I am sure it will get better once i reach max on the board and chip.

cisco kid
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-03, 01:17 PM   #7
935_MobyDick
Member

 
935_MobyDick's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ontario

 
What a great mobo !

Big kudos to Soltek for catering to the bang for the buck crowd.
935_MobyDick is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-03, 03:09 PM   #8
drewthomas14
Member

 
drewthomas14's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

 
lol. well i bought it b4 i saw your post. but still ,thanks for the opinion
drewthomas14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-03, 03:11 PM   #9
mdcomp
Classic Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
mdcomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
I have the board, too. It's great. Great o/c features and high fsb. I would def. reccomend it.

mdcomp is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 11:56 AM Thread Starter   #10
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by drewthomas14
lol. well i bought it b4 i saw your post. but still ,thanks for the opinion
you got it installed and running sweet yet or what lets hear some feedback

cisco kid
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 03:13 PM   #11
drewthomas14
Member

 
drewthomas14's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

 
just got it today. nice package and cool bag it comes with. i won't be able to install for about 2hrs cause i gotta go get some training for my first job that will be paying for this motherboard.
drewthomas14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-03, 01:32 AM   #12
drewthomas14
Member

 
drewthomas14's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

 
well i got it installed ,but when i was trying to reseat the heatsink my screwdriver slipped and i think i hit the board but im not sure. im installing windows now, so far so good. i see somewhere where i might have hit it with a screwdriver but im not sure. if it runs 3d and everything ill just let it go and assume i either missed it or didnt do any damage.
drewthomas14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-03, 11:23 AM   #13
drewthomas14
Member

 
drewthomas14's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

 
i thought there is multiplier adjustments in the bios. i have none.
drewthomas14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-03, 12:22 PM   #14
mattspalace
I been Dolk'ed Senior

 
mattspalace's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

 
Oh they're there... just look on the right side of the bios page under CPU ratio. 5 to 18 is available.

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF XM
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V
RAM: G-Skill Ripjaws X-Series 16GB DDR3-1600
SSD: 2 X 120GB Kingston Hyper-X 3K in RAID-0
CPU: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.2GHz - 1.18V
CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Video Card: EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition
PSU: Corsair AX-750
Monitor: Dell U2410
mattspalace is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-03, 01:14 PM   #15
drewthomas14
Member

 
drewthomas14's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

 
lol.. just found it. usually its under the same as the fsb. o well thanks. my board is working good so far even though i hit it with a screwdriver. i ran 3dmark2001 a couple of times. im at 11x200 right now with everything default except 2.7vdimm
drewthomas14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-03, 02:14 PM   #16
mattspalace
I been Dolk'ed Senior

 
mattspalace's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

 
Here's a question for you.. Anyone ran any tests to see if there is any difference runs dual channel in slots 1 and 3, versus 2 and 3?
Can't be much of a difference, but just wondering.

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF XM
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V
RAM: G-Skill Ripjaws X-Series 16GB DDR3-1600
SSD: 2 X 120GB Kingston Hyper-X 3K in RAID-0
CPU: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.2GHz - 1.18V
CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Video Card: EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition
PSU: Corsair AX-750
Monitor: Dell U2410
mattspalace is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-03, 09:32 PM   #17
drewthomas14
Member

 
drewthomas14's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

 
they should be the same since they are both dual channel
drewthomas14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-03, 12:58 AM Thread Starter   #18
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by drewthomas14
lol.. just found it. usually its under the same as the fsb. o well thanks. my board is working good so far even though i hit it with a screwdriver. i ran 3dmark2001 a couple of times. im at 11x200 right now with everything default except 2.7vdimm

nice nice pretty sweet board to do 200 fsb outa da box on default vcore, would you not agree. I am at 210 @ 11 mulit just have not had time to fiddle. I posted to desktop at 210 @ 12 multi with 1.650 and 2.8 vdimm and vdd @ 1.6 but my mouse was able to move around nothing would load though.

Will get back to you guys when I max out

Cisco KId
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-03, 03:13 PM   #19
drewthomas14
Member

 
drewthomas14's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Fort Wayne, IN

 
this board is starting to get on my nerves. at 11x200 it can only run prime for 4hrs then i get a rounding error. maybe that screwdriver did some damage after all. i have it at 11x200 1.675v on cpu and 2.7vdimm and 1.6vdd. it should be able to do at least 200 with default vdd.
drewthomas14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-12-03, 03:28 PM   #20
Lonely Raven
If you traded with me please leave me Heatware Senior

 
Lonely Raven's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wheaton, IL

 
Or maybe it's your processor?

__________________
The Lonely Raven

Jack of All Trades,
Master of None

IT Samurai

My Heatware
Lonely Raven is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?