Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

9500np/9500pro--->9700pro

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-03, 12:34 AM Thread Starter   #1
whatdapho84
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle

 
9500np/9500pro--->9700pro


hey guys, im too lazy to figure out myself whether the 9500np or 9500pro will be better to overclock to 9700pro speeds. i understand that the 9500np isnt guaranteed and all so why doesnt everybody just opt for the 9500pro and mod that? what are the major differences. all in all, what do you guys suggest i get? i need suggestions quick! thanks guys
whatdapho84 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-03, 06:08 AM   #2
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
The 9500PRo is not moddable to a 9700. The reason the 9500np is is because it was made based on the 9700's 256bit pcb, the 9500Pro is built on the 128bit pcb that Ati now also uses for 9500nps. SO the moddable 9500s are getting rarer by the day and are not very guaranteed even if you can find one.

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-03, 12:50 PM   #3
D2DM
Member



Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NL

 
k funnyperson, but maybe a refinement:
SO the 9500s that are moddable to 9700 are getting rarer by the day.
The 9500s based on 9500pro layout can be modded to the 9500pro.

Both these conversions are not 100% succesrate.

so least hassle and 8 good pipelines= r9500pro
this can't be modded but can be flashed if the bios is locked against overclocking..
D2DM is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-03, 07:25 PM Thread Starter   #4
whatdapho84
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle

 
thanks
whatdapho84 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-03, 12:09 AM   #5
black_wing
Member

 
black_wing's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada,Montreal

 
hassle? i guess i am just lucky then.. i went through two cards... both moddable... and oc's.. just this one i got really made me smile...16k finally...
black_wing is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?