• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

C++ Ray Tracing! This is so fun!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

macklin01

Computational Oncologist / Biomathematician / Mode
We have to write a ray-tracing program for our final graphics project. I'm having a lot of fun with this project, especially since I'm self-taught in programming and this is a class for graduate CS people. :eek: But this is fun -- no OpenGL, just raw code. ;)

I've made some good progress and will post some pics tonight. So far, I have spheres and triangles with texture mapping implemented, an illumination model that includes ambient, diffuse, and specular lighting, arbitrary camera viewpoints, and shadowing. (It has to read a scene definition file and parse it as the first part of the project.)

Coming soon: reflections and refractions / transparency, some primitive bump mapping, and anti-aliasing. I just couldn't wait to post. ;)

I also have a website for the class at

http://www.ima.umn.edu/~macklin

that I'll be updating soonish. :)

Okay, thanks for listening. :) -- Paul

Ive been planning on doing something similar, i just cant find a reference for how to program a graphics library. Do you have a link to a site that has details on the basic functions used to program up a graphics library?

Hmm, you can use OpenGL for some of that, but really, a lot of it's on your own when you do a ray tracer. (Don't plan on real-time rendering -- parse a file and save its output.)

I was lucky to some extent -- I had already written a Matrix library that I can use for a lot of the transformations and such. But I had to write my own routines for rotations, transformations, screen buffer, etc.