Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Temp controlled shutdown program?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-09-03, 07:31 PM Thread Starter   #1
FIRESTARR357
Member

 
FIRESTARR357's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

 
Question Temp controlled shutdown program?


Is there any programs besides MM5 that can shut down your PC when your temps get to high? I am wondering incase my pump ever dies i want My PC to shutdown before it burns up, Thx for the help guys .
FIRESTARR357 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 07:47 PM   #2
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
Re: Temp controlled shutdown program?


Quote:
Originally posted by FIRESTARR357
Is there any programs besides MM5 that can shut down your PC when your temps get to high? I am wondering incase my pump ever dies i want My PC to shutdown before it burns up, Thx for the help guys .
Most mobos have this feature in the bios... most NF2 mobos have some sort of overheat protection too that is automatic. Check your manual.

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 08:59 PM Thread Starter   #3
FIRESTARR357
Member

 
FIRESTARR357's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

 
I did look all i could find was temp monitor that beeps when its overheating i need it to shutdown
FIRESTARR357 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 09:30 PM   #4
clash
Premium Member #10

 
clash's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canyon,Tx.

10 Year Badge
 
Not in bios?

Note to self: Dont buy a MSI....

__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Corsair Vengeance 4x8
Mushkin Chronos 120
XFX 7950 BE 1050/1500
Rosewill Lightning-1000 PSU
clash is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 10:45 PM   #5
lazyart
Member

 
lazyart's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003

 
ShutDown Now! (aka SDN!)
lazyart is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 11:23 PM   #6
The Blazer
Member

 
The Blazer's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Near Montreal, QC, Canada

 
My MSI K7N420 Pro (nForce 1) has the alarm AND the shutdown feature in the bios !

Maybe you should double check...
The Blazer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 11:28 PM   #7
wormwood
Member



Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tucson, AZ

 
Just incase you don't want to rely soley on software...

http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...hreadid=189810
wormwood is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 11:51 PM   #8
JFettig
Hey! I showered! Senior

 
JFettig's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: MN

 
sdn is awesome, works wonderfully!


in temperatures, under alarm in mbm, theres a thing that says something about using shdn its a link, click it and find your download. then configure it, pretty simple

Jon

__________________
||http://www.wc101.com - Watercooling101||
||http://jfettigmachines.com CNC kits||
JFettig is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 11:54 PM   #9
Xevuhtess7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston Area

 
i use mbm5+shdn, works beautifuilly
Xevuhtess7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-03, 11:59 PM   #10
Excelsior
Member

 
Excelsior's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: KITTENS!!! KITTENS!!! KITTENS!!! KITTENS!!!

 
i use mbm5+sdn+Bios overheat protection+epox shutdown software

I have a failsafe for failsafes

Excelsior is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-03, 12:50 AM   #11
gizxmo
Registered



Join Date: May 2003
Location: a

 
amd shutdown solutions are not guaranteed to save the processor

but what was really funny is that i sold a friend an ax-7 he set it all up turned on his comp and it kept beeping at him
then he realised the fan was not on he did not hook it up to the psu :* lol but thankfully the ax-7 is a bunch of metal and his cpu was unharmed but with water cooling it would not take long to cook that waterblock
gizxmo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-03, 07:39 AM   #12
Xevuhtess7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Boston Area

 
Quote:
Originally posted by gizxmo
but with water cooling it would not take long to cook that waterblock
what are you talkin about dude....
Xevuhtess7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?