Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

I fried my psu while OC'ing my xp2100+. Any suggestions for a new one?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-13-03, 08:50 AM Thread Starter   #1
efini
Member

 
efini's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, California

 
I fried my psu while OC'ing my xp2100+. Any suggestions for a new one?


Nothing is worse than waking up to a failed prime95 being tested on a rig in progress. Well, how about waking up to a computer that is completely off and that will not boot up? thats exactly what happened to me this morning. I pushed a cheap $10 raidmax psu to the limit and it finally coughed its last breath. Fortunately after popping in another psu from my main rig, I found out that was the problem.

I'm not upset since I know I got what I deserved for buying something so cheap. Its time now for me to purchase a new and decent power supply for my AMD. Do you guys have any suggestions for a PSU that will be around $50-60?

-efini
efini is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-03, 08:54 AM   #2
modenaf1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the terran system

 
modenaf1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-03, 09:06 AM Thread Starter   #3
efini
Member

 
efini's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, California

 
There is a store called pixelusa.com and they are located close by for me to locally pickup. I came up with a list of power supplies that I would be in my price range:

$63 Antec SL400 ATX 400 watt power supply
$58 Antec True330 ATX 330 watt power supply
$68 Antec True380 ATX 380 watt power supply

Do you guys think the regular Antec 400 would suffice? My current power consumption setup is simply a sunon 80mm, hard drive, cdrom, floppy drive, and 92mm case fan.

I would also like to point out that my motherboard does not have the extra 4 pin atx connector for the cpu.

thanks,

-efini
efini is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-03, 09:07 AM   #4
hitechjb1
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by modenaf1
Go to www.pricewatch.com
pricewatch won't suggest what to buy??

__________________

Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
A64 Overclocking Result Collection
Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
- DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
- ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
- ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
- Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display
hitechjb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-03, 09:10 AM Thread Starter   #5
efini
Member

 
efini's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Jose, California

 
Sorry about that, I should edit my post to now ask for 2nd opinions on the choices I posted since I would prefer a local pickup.

-efini
efini is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-03, 12:39 PM   #6
Pla
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA

 
Antec is very good choice.
Their power is combined on all lines - they don't have limitations on the separate lines. Also they have separate regulators on 5V and 12V. So when the load on the 5V goes high you 12V remains stable. Normal PSU has limitation of the 5V output to not exceed some value which is way bellow of the max rated value.
I have 480W and it's very good. My previous generic 400W PSU couldn't boot every time. With this one it botts every time.

If the price difference isn't much - go with 480. The PSU will stay after your next upgrade.
Pla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-03, 01:08 PM   #7
hitechjb1
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Pla
Antec is very good choice.
Their power is combined on all lines - they don't have limitations on the separate lines. Also they have separate regulators on 5V and 12V. So when the load on the 5V goes high you 12V remains stable. Normal PSU has limitation of the 5V output to not exceed some value which is way bellow of the max rated value.
I have 480W and it's very good. My previous generic 400W PSU couldn't boot every time. With this one it botts every time.

If the price difference isn't much - go with 480. The PSU will stay after your next upgrade.
At full overclock frequency, I wonder what is the voltage fluctuation on the PSU rail (either 5V or 12V) that generates the Vcore.

If you have the numbers from MBM or any probing program, I would like to know.

Also do you have the 5V and 12V rail voltage when the CPU is running a much lower frequency, say 1.8 GHz or 2 GHz.

__________________

Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
A64 Overclocking Result Collection
Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
- DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
- ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
- ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
- Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display
hitechjb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-03, 02:56 PM   #8
sandman001
Just Freeze It



Join Date: Mar 2003

10 Year Badge
 
I would go for either 400 or 350 watt forton/sparkle power supply.
sandman001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-03, 04:11 PM   #9
Wiz4rd
Member

 
Wiz4rd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003

 
Fortron 530w
Wiz4rd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-13-03, 04:58 PM   #10
JungleMan
Member

 
JungleMan's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003

 
Fortron is also a very good brand.

I just got the Antec SL400 for my other machine and it's completely awesome. Voltages are dead-on where they should be but I think I need to test that with a DMM.

I am thinking of swapping my True430 in the main machine, Antec's SmartPowers are SO much better than the TruePowers, and they redesigned the SmartPowers to a dual fan design and a switch on the back unlike the PP412X. There's also a 450w model now which is cheaper than Newegg's True430, and is rated slightly better on the 5v and 3.3v.

BTW, you're not alone on the "I fried my PSU" boat. I have been OCing for a while now and I just did it a couple of weeks ago to a Deer clone 350w on my second machine (which is the one that now has the SL400). Stupid pieces of junk that will teach me never to buy cheap again.

Last edited by JungleMan; 05-13-03 at 05:07 PM.
JungleMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 10:33 PM   #11
Pla
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by hitechjb1
At full overclock frequency, I wonder what is the voltage fluctuation on the PSU rail (either 5V or 12V) that generates the Vcore.

If you have the numbers from MBM or any probing program, I would like to know.

Also do you have the 5V and 12V rail voltage when the CPU is running a much lower frequency, say 1.8 GHz or 2 GHz.
You can see the vcore at the second post here

You can see the max/min at the top of the image. The graph is zoomed only for the vcore.

The vcore min/max is 1.78/1.89 which is a lot.
The 5V rail is 5.00/5.00 which is stable.
The 12V rail is 11.86/12.04.
Pla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 10:36 PM   #12
mattspalace
I been Dolk'ed Senior

 
mattspalace's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stuttgart, Germany

 
If you get an Antec, get the True Power line. I have the SL400 currently, and I'm a little disappointed in it - which is why I have a 550w True Power on the way.

__________________
Case: Cooler Master HAF XM
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V
RAM: G-Skill Ripjaws X-Series 16GB DDR3-1600
SSD: 2 X 120GB Kingston Hyper-X 3K in RAID-0
CPU: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.2GHz - 1.18V
CPU Cooler: Thermaltake Water 2.0 Extreme
Video Card: EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition
PSU: Corsair AX-750
Monitor: Dell U2410
mattspalace is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 11:00 PM   #13
hitechjb1
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Pla


You can see the vcore at the second post here

You can see the max/min at the top of the image. The graph is zoomed only for the vcore.

The vcore min/max is 1.78/1.89 which is a lot.
The 5V rail is 5.00/5.00 which is stable.
The 12V rail is 11.86/12.04.
Thanks for the info.

I asked because wanted to see how does a TP480 perform. It looks like your mb is using 12V to generate Vcore. Does your mb have a 4pin 12V socket. And the 12V varied 0.18V which is within 0.36V (3% of the 12V). But the Vcore fluctuated a lot, 110 mV which is just outside the AMD DC % of +-50mV for Tbred and Barton.

I have a TP430, and the 5V line swings as much as 190 mV which is outside the PSU spec of 150 mV, when running the 1700+ at 2.5 GHz 1.9V, at which the current is higher than your Barton running at 2.3 GHz, 1.8+V.

__________________

Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
A64 Overclocking Result Collection
Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
- DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
- ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
- ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
- Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display
hitechjb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 11:01 PM   #14
emericanchaos
Member

 
emericanchaos's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Williamsport, PA

 
if i was in your position i'd get a fortron 350 for the $40 bills they cost. maybe not as good as antec but the price reflects that. and they're prolly second to antec.

__________________
xp4000+
crap MSI board
2GB XMMS
x700xt
not worth OCing with this board.
emericanchaos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-03, 01:11 AM   #15
Pla
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA

 
hitechjb1,
Yes I am using the 4pin 12V socket. Also my cpu consumes 105W.

On the graph I noticed my vcore goes up when the cpu load is low (0%) and goes down at 100%. The board is supposed to stabilize it...
Pla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-03, 01:24 AM   #16
hitechjb1
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Pla
hitechjb1,
Yes I am using the 4pin 12V socket. Also my cpu consumes 105W.

On the graph I noticed my vcore goes up when the cpu load is low (0%) and goes down at 100%. The board is supposed to stabilize it...
It looks like your TP480 lines are good and stable. The Vcore fluctuation can be due to the Vcore regulator on the mb or the presence of some unwanted resistance.

There are some test results from Antec showing the TP480 when overdrawn can deliver like a TP550.

Comparing FS 530 and TP 550

__________________

Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
A64 Overclocking Result Collection
Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
- DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
- ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
- ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
- Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display
hitechjb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-03, 12:09 PM   #17
ayoung
Member

 
ayoung's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Metro Detroit MI

 
Quote:
Originally posted by hitechjb1


pricewatch won't suggest what to buy??

Yes they do, under CPU at the bottom.
ayoung is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-03, 06:13 PM   #18
gogadgetman
Member

 
gogadgetman's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Derby England

 
I killed 2 PSU's overclocking my CPU (see signature) both cheap generic, one 350W and one 550W. Now i have a Antec 480W True Blue PSU. Awesome
gogadgetman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-03, 07:17 PM   #19
hitechjb1
Senior Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by gogadgetman
I killed 2 PSU's overclocking my CPU (see signature) both cheap generic, one 350W and one 550W. Now i have a Antec 480W True Blue PSU. Awesome
How did they die? Just crash and no post, smell, smoke??

__________________

Overclocking sandbox for A64 939 systems with Winchester and beyond
A64 CPUs, chipsets, motherboards
A64 Overclocking Result Collection
Overclocking sandbox: Tbred B DLT3C and beyond
- DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra-D, Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 3.00 GHz, highest clock 3.30 GHz, XP-90, G. Skill 4800 2 x 512 MB, X800Pro (Winchester 0447 CBBHD 2.83 GHz 314x9 1.52V)
- ABIT NF7-S rev 2.0, Mobile Barton 2600+ IQYHA 0351 MPMW 2.71 GHz (225x12), 18/37 C, 1.89 V, SLK-947U 80mm Tornado (w/ fan control), 512 MB x 2 3500 C2 2-3-2-5, 9500 np -> 9700 np 360/311
- ASUS A7N8X DLX, Tbred B 1700+ 0310 XPMW 2.56 GHz (205x12.5) 1.94 V, max at 2.6 GHz, SLK-800U + TT SFII, 48/40 28/26 C, 512MB 3500 C2 2-3-2-5 (retired)
- Intel 8088 4.77 MHz 8bit CPU, 64KB memory, 1 MB HD, 5 1/4" floppy drive, DOS, 200 bps modem, 80x25 char display
hitechjb1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?