Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

256MB Graphics Cards Standard Soon!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-03, 10:51 AM Thread Starter   #1
OC-Master
Member

 
OC-Master's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

 
256MB Graphics Cards Standard Soon!


I was told by a bunch of people that both the R300 and NV30~NV34 cores all can support 256MB configurations of memory on board.

I guess these guys were right, Abit has already launched a 256MB GeForce FX 5600.

Appearently, we wont see any R300 core VPUs with 256MB but were supposed to see the RV350 and R350 with 256MB configurations.

The difference in price will be around $80US for most of the configurations.

I'm yet to see the ATI Radeon 9800 non Pro 256MB edition.. I'm really eyeing this sucker up!

BUT!, dont be surprised to start seeing stuff like a Radeon 9600 Pro with 256MB or GeForceFX 5200 Pro with 256MB for $149US or sometin like that.


OC-Master

__________________
RIG:
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI | 1805:Bios
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ | 2733MHz
4.00GB OCZ PC3200 | 400MHz 2-3-2-5-2T
2.00TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (4X500)
1.00GB Radeon HD 4870 | CORE/MEM 790 / 3840
Creative X-Fi Fatality Champion Platinum
OCZ 850Watt Xtreme PSU | MS Windows Vista Ultimate x64 Edition
Acer 26" Wide LCD 1920X1200 5ms | Sunbeam Fully Mod BlueUV Acrylic Case
OC-Master is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 11:09 AM   #2
Evnas
Member

 
Evnas's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Re: 256MB Graphics Cards Standard Soon!


Quote:
Originally posted by OC-Master
I was told by a bunch of people that both the R300 and NV30~NV34 cores all can support 256MB configurations of memory on board.
That was all reported back when the cards were released...im surprised your just hearing it
Evnas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 11:10 AM   #3
myzhi
Registered



Join Date: May 2002

 
Not surpising at all. Next will be 512 MB. Then, 1 GB, and so on. Thus, AGP 8X, 16X, and etc. will continue to be a big marketing BS.
myzhi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 11:26 AM   #4
Shade00
Member

 
Shade00's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Louisiana Tech University

 
Methinks graphics cards will be hard pressed to use 128mb, much less 256mb.
Shade00 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 12:33 PM   #5
Beast Of Blight
Disabled

 
Beast Of Blight's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Orange County

 
Quote:
Originally posted by myzhi
Not surpising at all. Next will be 512 MB. Then, 1 GB, and so on. Thus, AGP 8X, 16X, and etc. will continue to be a big marketing BS.

Isn't PCIExpress supposed to be the next big thing after AGP8x?
Beast Of Blight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 12:43 PM   #6
ajrettke
Member

 
ajrettke's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dayton. OH

10 Year Badge
 
there's a review of a 256mb radeon 9800 (think pro bu not sure)...the 256 only helps with 1600x1200 and 4x AA and 16x Anio, and if you run that it's gonna be slow as hell.

Review is at firingsquad.com
No games come close to utilizing the 256 so you might as well save your money.

__________________
i5-3570k @ 4.5ghz WC'd
MSI Z77A-G41
R9 280X
2x4gb PC16000
256GB Samsung 840
Sennheiser HDR-120's
Dell U2713HM
"Computer games dont affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, wed all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitve electonic dance music..." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo Inc, 1989
ajrettke is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 01:19 PM   #7
myzhi
Registered



Join Date: May 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Beast Of Blight



Isn't PCIExpress supposed to be the next big thing after AGP8x?

You are right that PCIExpress will be the next standard, but even then, it's another AGPish BS. The initial bandwidth will be 2.5 GB/s which is crap compare to 10 GB/s GF4, 16 GB/s GF FX, and 20 GB/s 9700 Pro. PCIExpress should get better (heard 16 GB/s), but so will bandwidth on video cards. Thus, it's like another AGP. Pretty useless for video.
myzhi is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 01:27 PM   #8
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
Considering Matrox came out with 256mb last year sometime - it is about time the rest of the compainies caught on.

I think alot of people forget that some people who do own a 9700 pro or something might also use their system for things OTHER then gaming, such as GFX design or cad applications.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,



Last edited by Mr.Guvernment; 05-14-03 at 01:45 PM.
Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 02:29 PM   #9
Albuquerque
Member

 
Albuquerque's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North America

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Shade00
Methinks graphics cards will be hard pressed to use 128mb, much less 256mb.
Epic actually publically stated that several of the levels in UT2K3, when all sliders are at "highest quality", will use more than 128mb of video memory at the standard resolution of 1024x768x32. Throw in some AA and AF and you've got 160+mb of video memory in use...

Yeah, that's not a lot in the grand scheme of things, but it's VERY easy for a current card to make use of 128mb of ram. And if you're expecting any of the newest DX9 and OGL2 games to play nicely, you'd better start with at least 128mb.

__________________
Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
Mitsumi
4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
Magic Color!
Albuquerque is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 05:22 PM   #10
baraka
Member



Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: USA

 
The 256MB 9800 Pro is already being shipped to resellers: http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...1088264,00.asp

I thought it was going to be at least a few weeks after ATI's announcement before they were ready to ship.
baraka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-03, 05:26 PM   #11
Beast Of Blight
Disabled

 
Beast Of Blight's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Orange County

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr.Guvernment
Considering Matrox came out with 256mb last year sometime - it is about time the rest of the compainies caught on.

I think alot of people forget that some people who do own a 9700 pro or something might also use their system for things OTHER then gaming, such as GFX design or cad applications.
If you do CAD and such then your better off getting a CAD card.


3d gaming cards suck at CAD, and CAD sucks at 3d gaming. So if your doing CAD you shouldn't even be bothering with game cards.
Beast Of Blight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-03, 08:58 AM Thread Starter   #12
OC-Master
Member

 
OC-Master's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

 
SimCity 4 takes advantage of cards that have 256MB of video ram. It has an extension to its graphics which are turned on when a graphics card with 256MB or more is detected. Man, that game eats alot of video memory with all that detail!


OC-Master

__________________
RIG:
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI | 1805:Bios
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ | 2733MHz
4.00GB OCZ PC3200 | 400MHz 2-3-2-5-2T
2.00TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (4X500)
1.00GB Radeon HD 4870 | CORE/MEM 790 / 3840
Creative X-Fi Fatality Champion Platinum
OCZ 850Watt Xtreme PSU | MS Windows Vista Ultimate x64 Edition
Acer 26" Wide LCD 1920X1200 5ms | Sunbeam Fully Mod BlueUV Acrylic Case
OC-Master is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 10:38 AM Thread Starter   #13
OC-Master
Member

 
OC-Master's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta

 
64MB =

640x480x32 4XFSAA 2XAF
800x600x32 2XFSAA 2XAF


128MB =

640x480x32 4XFSAA 16XAF
800x600x32 4XFSAA 8XAF
1024x768x32 4XFSAA 8XAF
1280x960x32 2XFSAA 8XAF


256MB =

640x480x32 4XFSAA 16XAF
800x600x32 4XFSAA 16XAF
1024x768x32 4XFSAA 16XAF
1280x960x32 4XFSAA 16XAF
1600x1200x32 2XFSAA 8XAF


These statistics are all presuming that your gonna have some room left over to store plentiful amount of textures on the graphics card and room for a larger Z-buffer. This was conducted after I took information from four hardware review sites around the web that benched the FX 5900 and 256MB Radeon 9800.


OC-Master

__________________
RIG:
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe nForce4 SLI | 1805:Bios
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ | 2733MHz
4.00GB OCZ PC3200 | 400MHz 2-3-2-5-2T
2.00TB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 (4X500)
1.00GB Radeon HD 4870 | CORE/MEM 790 / 3840
Creative X-Fi Fatality Champion Platinum
OCZ 850Watt Xtreme PSU | MS Windows Vista Ultimate x64 Edition
Acer 26" Wide LCD 1920X1200 5ms | Sunbeam Fully Mod BlueUV Acrylic Case
OC-Master is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 12:40 PM   #14
irish80122
Member

 
irish80122's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Centennial, CO

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Shade00
Methinks graphics cards will be hard pressed to use 128mb, much less 256mb.
"A gigabyte???? How could anyone have that much information! Surely I would never be able to fill something that huge" -Me about 5 years ago. Trust me, if there is a will, there is a way.

__________________
AMD XP 2500+ Barton aquca0306upcw @2.30 GHz (11.5*200) @1.95V . Epox 8RDA3+, 786 MB Corsair PC3200, 80 GIG WD 7200 RPM HD, MSI GeForce 4 TI4200.

Watercooling Pump-CPU-NB-Rez-Rad
Maze4 CPU block, Dangerden NB Waterblock, Dtek Bayrez, Dtek Pro Radiator, Hydor L30 pump

Temps: Ambient 26, System 32, CPU 41 at full load. Not bad I guess.

Top 1000 in folding finally!!!Go 32!!!
irish80122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 08:46 PM   #15
pip
Member

 
pip's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oregon, The InteLinux State

 
What rock have you been living under?
pip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 10:41 PM   #16
irish80122
Member

 
irish80122's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Centennial, CO

 
Quote:
Originally posted by pip
What rock have you been living under?
If you are referring to me, did you notice the little 5 years ago comment?

__________________
AMD XP 2500+ Barton aquca0306upcw @2.30 GHz (11.5*200) @1.95V . Epox 8RDA3+, 786 MB Corsair PC3200, 80 GIG WD 7200 RPM HD, MSI GeForce 4 TI4200.

Watercooling Pump-CPU-NB-Rez-Rad
Maze4 CPU block, Dangerden NB Waterblock, Dtek Bayrez, Dtek Pro Radiator, Hydor L30 pump

Temps: Ambient 26, System 32, CPU 41 at full load. Not bad I guess.

Top 1000 in folding finally!!!Go 32!!!
irish80122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 10:50 PM   #17
Beast Of Blight
Disabled

 
Beast Of Blight's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Orange County

 
There was a time when peopel thought computers of our day and age would way hundreds of tons and take up entire city blocks..

1gig of oncard video ram, sure... its jaw dropping right now for what we precieve uselessness and idiocy... But just think how your perception will be changed two, five or even ten years down the line. For all you know those types of cards could be bargan bin after a while should we begin to replace monitors with Virtual Reality displays or some such.
Beast Of Blight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 10:53 PM   #18
irish80122
Member

 
irish80122's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Centennial, CO

 
I was actually referring to hard drives, which I should have said because it confused a lot of people, but I wouldn't doubt if video cards get there in a few years. The technology keeps getting better, and the programmers aren't far behind.

__________________
AMD XP 2500+ Barton aquca0306upcw @2.30 GHz (11.5*200) @1.95V . Epox 8RDA3+, 786 MB Corsair PC3200, 80 GIG WD 7200 RPM HD, MSI GeForce 4 TI4200.

Watercooling Pump-CPU-NB-Rez-Rad
Maze4 CPU block, Dangerden NB Waterblock, Dtek Bayrez, Dtek Pro Radiator, Hydor L30 pump

Temps: Ambient 26, System 32, CPU 41 at full load. Not bad I guess.

Top 1000 in folding finally!!!Go 32!!!
irish80122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 12:24 PM   #19
bafbrian
Member

 
bafbrian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Beast Of Blight
There was a time when peopel thought computers of our day and age would way hundreds of tons and take up entire city blocks..

1gig of oncard video ram, sure... its jaw dropping right now for what we precieve uselessness and idiocy... But just think how your perception will be changed two, five or even ten years down the line. For all you know those types of cards could be bargan bin after a while should we begin to replace monitors with Virtual Reality displays or some such.
All of these ideas are gonna be real sooner of later, so we might as well get used to the idea that these thing will be coming out.

Truthfully, most games don't need 256mb to run, and we are saying that it is useless, but just wait until games start coming out and they need more than 256MB and then you be saying th same thing about the a "512MB" card when it comes out.

So guys and girls, all of this technology is gonna come out sooner or later, we might as well get used to the idea that it is gonna happen.

If we do look back, we would never think of any computer parts being this fast this soon, would have told each other that is nuts and that you are outta your mind.

This is just my 0.02cents
bafbrian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 12:56 PM   #20
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
^^^^^ exactly.

right now it may seem useless but so did 2ghz CPU's a year ago.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?