Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

AMD user thinking of going Intel

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-03, 08:41 PM Thread Starter   #1
clash
Premium Member #10

 
clash's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canyon,Tx.

10 Year Badge
 
AMD user thinking of going Intel


Currently have the system in my sig. Thinking of putting a Intel system together to see what i can get it to do.

Any suggestions on a chip for around $150.00? Do i need to look for a particular stepping? Do Intel Chips come like that?

Thanks for your time.

__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Corsair Vengeance 4x8
Mushkin Chronos 120
XFX 7950 BE 1050/1500
Rosewill Lightning-1000 PSU
clash is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 08:44 PM   #2
Maxvla
Senior Member

 
Maxvla's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OKC

 
chip for 150.. 2.4b is your chip. SL6RZ Costa rica week 52 is the best you can do. otherwise i'd get a SL6EF (not sure on the other details on this stepping).

and welcome to the dark side

__________________
The Black Hole
Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
Gigabyte P55M-UD2
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX460 1GB
Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
Corsair HX850W PSU
NEC DVD-RW
Maxvla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 09:04 PM   #3
TC
Senior Seti Addict

 
TC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
If you can wait a little while I would suggest getting a 2.4C when the price drops below $200 and pair that with a canterwood board such as the Abit IC7 or Asus P4C800.

__________________
My Heatware
TC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 09:07 PM   #4
jdmcnudgent
Member

 
jdmcnudgent's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: tOLEDO, OHIO, the heart of it all!

 
Quote:
Originally posted by TC
If you can wait a little while I would suggest getting a 2.4C when the price drops below $200 and pair that with a canterwood board such as the Abit IC7 or Asus P4C800.
already below $200, mine was $198 shipped. p4c800, $185 shipped, and 2x256 buffalo pc3700, $124 shipped. killer system.
jdmcnudgent is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 09:08 PM   #5
TC
Senior Seti Addict

 
TC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
Let us know how the buffalo holds up....

__________________
My Heatware
TC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 09:31 PM Thread Starter   #6
clash
Premium Member #10

 
clash's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canyon,Tx.

10 Year Badge
 
What kind of differneces are there between the 2.4B and 2.4C ?
C handle more voltage,just plain OC better?

__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Corsair Vengeance 4x8
Mushkin Chronos 120
XFX 7950 BE 1050/1500
Rosewill Lightning-1000 PSU
clash is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 09:43 PM   #7
AZN
AznSniper

 
AZN's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002

10 Year Badge
 
C comes at a much lower multiplyer and defualt at 200fsb. they normally oc 250fsb and higher.

B is 133fsb and normally ocs 170fsb. if u find a good RZ stepping then u should expect to hit 180-200fsb on air.

the C chip will require a springdale or canter board. u would want a dual ram board anyways so id get the C chip if u got alittle cash to burn.

__________________
"The only fool bigger than the person who knows it all, is the person who argues with him." Stanislaw Jerszy Lec
AZN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 09:53 PM Thread Starter   #8
clash
Premium Member #10

 
clash's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canyon,Tx.

10 Year Badge
 
Sounds good to me. Thanks for the explainations and guidance.

__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Corsair Vengeance 4x8
Mushkin Chronos 120
XFX 7950 BE 1050/1500
Rosewill Lightning-1000 PSU
clash is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 10:52 PM   #9
PhobMX
Member

 
PhobMX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

 
can the canterwood run single channel??? i dont have the cash for another 2 512mb sticks

__________________
Intel C2D e8400 @ 1.3625v 445x9=4005MHz 38I-48L /AS5/XIGMATEK HDT-S1283/Blue Yate Loon 120mm - Asus P5Q3 - 4x2GB G.SKILL DDR3 PC10666 CAS 9-9-9-24 @ 1.6v DDR3 890 - Corsair 64GB SSD - nVidia GTX260 896MB @ Stock - SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic - LG DVDRW Combo - Modded Lian Li PC-7B case - 500W Seasonic S12-500 PSU - 4 x 120mm Blue Yate Loon fans
http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/620734.png
NOT FOLDING and Ethical OverClocker Samsung 22" 2ms n2750w Gaming LCD :cool: "Your eyes will thank you" R.I.P. GeForce3
PhobMX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-03, 11:37 PM   #10
Maxvla
Senior Member

 
Maxvla's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OKC

 
yes it can

__________________
The Black Hole
Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
Gigabyte P55M-UD2
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX460 1GB
Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
Corsair HX850W PSU
NEC DVD-RW
Maxvla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 04:45 AM   #11
jdmcnudgent
Member

 
jdmcnudgent's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: tOLEDO, OHIO, the heart of it all!

 
Quote:
Originally posted by PhobMX
can the canterwood run single channel??? i dont have the cash for another 2 512mb sticks
so get 2x256 sticks, read up.
jdmcnudgent is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 12:39 PM   #12
PhobMX
Member

 
PhobMX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

 
512mb wont be enough eventualy, im thinking about buying some 512mb more later

__________________
Intel C2D e8400 @ 1.3625v 445x9=4005MHz 38I-48L /AS5/XIGMATEK HDT-S1283/Blue Yate Loon 120mm - Asus P5Q3 - 4x2GB G.SKILL DDR3 PC10666 CAS 9-9-9-24 @ 1.6v DDR3 890 - Corsair 64GB SSD - nVidia GTX260 896MB @ Stock - SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic - LG DVDRW Combo - Modded Lian Li PC-7B case - 500W Seasonic S12-500 PSU - 4 x 120mm Blue Yate Loon fans
http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/620734.png
NOT FOLDING and Ethical OverClocker Samsung 22" 2ms n2750w Gaming LCD :cool: "Your eyes will thank you" R.I.P. GeForce3
PhobMX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 12:46 PM   #13
timmyqwest
Disabled

 
timmyqwest's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: illinois

 
Quote:
Originally posted by AZN
C comes at a much lower multiplyer and defualt at 200fsb. they normally oc 250fsb and higher.

B is 133fsb and normally ocs 170fsb. if u find a good RZ stepping then u should expect to hit 180-200fsb on air.

the C chip will require a springdale or canter board. u would want a dual ram board anyways so id get the C chip if u got alittle cash to burn.
Dont forget that uber hyperthreading
timmyqwest is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 03:38 PM   #14
fiji
Member

 
fiji's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: berlin

 
Re: AMD user thinking of going Intel


Quote:
Originally posted by clash
Currently have the system in my sig. Thinking of putting a Intel system together to see what i can get it to do.

Any suggestions on a chip for around $150.00? Do i need to look for a particular stepping? Do Intel Chips come like that?

Thanks for your time.

marrrr how could yo ubetray us like that


get a barton

__________________
---AthlonIIx4 4GBDDR3 NV9800GT---

running Win7x64
fiji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 03:44 PM   #15
PhobMX
Member

 
PhobMX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada

 
lets face it fiji, when $ aint an issue intel has the upper hand bar none

amd will always have a spot in my heard since it kept me well all this time with an uber tight budget and if theres another p3 vs athlon thingy between amd and intel i wont hessitate to switch back

__________________
Intel C2D e8400 @ 1.3625v 445x9=4005MHz 38I-48L /AS5/XIGMATEK HDT-S1283/Blue Yate Loon 120mm - Asus P5Q3 - 4x2GB G.SKILL DDR3 PC10666 CAS 9-9-9-24 @ 1.6v DDR3 890 - Corsair 64GB SSD - nVidia GTX260 896MB @ Stock - SoundBlaster X-Fi XtremeMusic - LG DVDRW Combo - Modded Lian Li PC-7B case - 500W Seasonic S12-500 PSU - 4 x 120mm Blue Yate Loon fans
http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/620734.png
NOT FOLDING and Ethical OverClocker Samsung 22" 2ms n2750w Gaming LCD :cool: "Your eyes will thank you" R.I.P. GeForce3
PhobMX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 03:48 PM   #16
AZN
AznSniper

 
AZN's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Re: Re: AMD user thinking of going Intel


Quote:
Originally posted by fiji



marrrr how could yo ubetray us like that


get a barton
u are the one to talk. from ur sig it says u got a intel rig

__________________
"The only fool bigger than the person who knows it all, is the person who argues with him." Stanislaw Jerszy Lec
AZN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 03:58 PM   #17
azehof
Registered

 
azehof's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: UK

 
These duel ram boards, the ones with 4 slots, will they run 4 sticks of 256Mb RAM all dueled? or will it only duel two slots? Also can you clock one pair of duel slots to 2100 and the other pair to 3200 speeds? Just I don't think my crucial 2100 will clock up to the speeds of my other 3200 memmory.
azehof is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 04:57 PM   #18
AZN
AznSniper

 
AZN's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002

10 Year Badge
 
yes they will run all 4 in dual mode but only 2 is required to run dual.

no dont use pc2100 mixed with 3200 it wont work or atleast the manual says it wont. i havent tried it outt myself but they recomment using the extact same sticks.

__________________
"The only fool bigger than the person who knows it all, is the person who argues with him." Stanislaw Jerszy Lec
AZN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 05:07 PM   #19
batboy
Senior Moment

 
batboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas, USA

10 Year Badge
 
The Canterwoods can run one stick of RAM for single channel, no problem. You can run dual channel with 2 or 4 sticks. It's best to use all matching sticks of RAM for dual channel. You might be able to run mixed RAM, but it won't be pretty. At best, it'll only run as fast as the slowest stick. I'd forget about trying to use PC2100. Sell them and save up a little more cash to get better stuff.

__________________
2600K, Asus P8P67 Deluxe, 2X2GB G.Skill Pi PC3-2133, PC & Cooling 750W
watercooled: Eheim 1048 pump, Swiftech Apogee GTX and 2X120mm rad
FS020 case, OCZ SSD, Sapphire HD 6950, Acer X241W 24" widescreen
batboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-03, 05:21 PM Thread Starter   #20
clash
Premium Member #10

 
clash's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canyon,Tx.

10 Year Badge
 
Im not dumping either processor, i am building a 3rd machine for the house. I have 2 AMD's allready, just want to see what i can get a Intel to do. So far, it sounds good to me....

Quote:
get a barton
So far, it looks like they dont OC worth a darn....

__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Corsair Vengeance 4x8
Mushkin Chronos 120
XFX 7950 BE 1050/1500
Rosewill Lightning-1000 PSU
clash is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?