• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Physics, Waves

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

deRusett

I am wondering about Perpendicular Wave Forms

If I have a Wave Form Traveling HOrizontally Can I cancel it out or alter it with another Wave form projected Perpendicular to it

_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-/ ......
_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-\........
_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-/ .........
_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-\........
_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-/ ........
_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-\.........

I took limited Highschool Physics, and My University Physics was focused on Semi Conductors, and lasers not Wave forms, so I have no knowledge on the subject,

If it is waves in a fluid or gas, yes it can be done. However if it is light or rf dont even spend the time.

don't even spend the time?

I am dealing with Microwaves, and radio Waves,

are you telling me not to spend time on it because nothing will happen... or that the physics behind it are extremly complicated

I have as long as I like to do this so if there is anyway to stop the waves using other waves then I will persue it

Are you looking for something like constructive or destructive interference of waves at the intersection?

i'm confused by your drawing, it looks like multiple digital signals being cancelled out by a vertical wave.

you mentioned standing waves:
here is an excellent reference for more information on them--it's very easy to read: http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/waves/standw.html

standing waves are reflected off of a surface, that is, a wave travels a distance, gets reflected off of a surface, the surface reflected wave and the initial wave are IN PHASE, causing the wave to appear to be "standing" and it's amplitude to double.