Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Enermax 365AX VE FMA Capacitor mod

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-03, 01:52 AM Thread Starter   #1
krairach
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

 
Enermax 365AX VE FMA Capacitor mod


I changed an input capacitor (400V 220uF) of Enermax 365AX VE FMA to 400V 470uF.
Before: all volts flucuate often (everytime MBM updates)
After: Vcore, Vddr, Vdd, +5V look more stable (hardly flucuate).
krairach is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-03, 02:00 AM   #2
FrozenFears
Member

 
FrozenFears's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle

 
Any chance you could explain a bit more in detail how you did this. I have an enermax 465W PS and have minor fluctuations, nothing major, but I have some time on my hands and if I can help stabilize them, then why not?
FrozenFears is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-03, 02:06 AM Thread Starter   #3
krairach
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

 
When you open the PSU case, you will see the biggest capacitor.
For the 365W model, there is only 1 capacitor (220uF 400V).

Simply replace that one with a higher value (more uF).
I read somewhere in this forum that a capacitor is like a glass of water. The bigger the glass, the more water it contains; hence, the better volt stability.

I also replace a small diode bridge with a higher capacity one (it is about 20% bigger in size about 8Amps 800V)
krairach is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-03, 03:09 AM   #4
larrymoencurly
Member

 
larrymoencurly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Why do PSUs with 400V filter capacitors use much smaller capacitors than PSUs with 200V capacitors, even when the series connection that cuts the overall capacitance in half is considered? Does using a single 400V cap work so much better that this doesn't hurt, or does active PFC help a lot here? Because even my bottom of the barrel 300W has 230 uF (two 560 uF in series).
larrymoencurly is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?