Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Brand new PSU

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-03, 09:16 PM Thread Starter   #1
mrm1957
Member

 
mrm1957's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina

 
Brand new PSU bad ?


Just got a new sparkle 350w PSU. When I put it in and try tried to start it would not work. When I jumpered out the green and a ground on the molex mobo connector the fans turned on and it seemed to work. It is supposed to be for AMD/Intel. The model no.
is FSP350-60BT it can be seen on newegg site. Any reasons why this is happening or should I RMA it. Any help is appreciated, thanks all.

__________________

AMD Athlon XP 1600 AGOIA @ 1755 Epox 8HKA+ SLK900/ Sunon 50 CFM
AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 2090 Shuttle AK35GT2 SLK800/ Sunon 50 CFM
AMD Sempron 2500 @ 1750 MSI M7NCD NF2
AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 1730 Asus A7V400-MX
AMD Athlon XP 2700 @ 2325 Abit NF7v2.0 SLK 900

"Allright you Devil Dogs let's take that folding hill"
FOLDING @ HOME TEAM 32
Enlist for Team 32 here


Heatware

Last edited by mrm1957; 05-20-03 at 09:52 PM.
mrm1957 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-03, 11:52 PM   #2
Hookem
Member

 
Hookem's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Well the smart thing to do would be to get a digital multi-tester and check the 12, 5, and 3.3 volt rails...Preferable with a Antec type ATX power supply tester...You can do the paper clip trick to check the power supply...I would check all the rails before I RMA'ed the thing...

__________________
If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

Switching to Intel
Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
In progress build.
Hookem is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-03, 02:16 AM   #3
larrymoencurly
Member

 
larrymoencurly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Why buy the Antec PSU tester when a couple of $2 10 ohm, 10W resistors from Radio Shack and a cheap digial meter will do the same thing? The Antec tester even passed a PSU that wouldn't put out more than 10.5V on he +12V rail.
larrymoencurly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-03, 03:42 AM   #4
Hookem
Member

 
Hookem's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston Texas

10 Year Badge
 
The "tester" I am reffering to just puts a load on the power supply...And it is a whopping 12.00 dollars...I really do not see how something that will put a load on the power supply can "pass" anything...The paper clip trick is way cheaper than either your or my solution, larrymoencurly...Still dont get it...Oh well... How about explaining just exactly what you are talking about???I personally would love to know why I am not testing power supply's right...How is your solution better??? And please explain why the Antec ATX power supply tester is not the way to go...Just curious how you have come to this conclusion.

__________________
If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

Switching to Intel
Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
In progress build.

Last edited by Hookem; 05-21-03 at 03:50 AM.
Hookem is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-03, 06:24 AM Thread Starter   #5
mrm1957
Member

 
mrm1957's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina

 
Anyone else have any ideas on why this will not work

__________________

AMD Athlon XP 1600 AGOIA @ 1755 Epox 8HKA+ SLK900/ Sunon 50 CFM
AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 2090 Shuttle AK35GT2 SLK800/ Sunon 50 CFM
AMD Sempron 2500 @ 1750 MSI M7NCD NF2
AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 1730 Asus A7V400-MX
AMD Athlon XP 2700 @ 2325 Abit NF7v2.0 SLK 900

"Allright you Devil Dogs let's take that folding hill"
FOLDING @ HOME TEAM 32
Enlist for Team 32 here


Heatware
mrm1957 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-03, 04:41 PM   #6
larrymoencurly
Member

 
larrymoencurly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Mrm1957, when you jumpered the green wire was the PSU connected to the mobo? If so, then you can probably rule out a short between the mobo and case, but the power button may be bad or its wiring not connected the right pins on the mobo. OTOH if the PSU doesn't work when it's plugged into the mobo, another possibility is a short to the case.

Hookem, the pair of resistors plus the digital voltage meter doesn't cost much more than the Antec tester but will give accurate indications of the voltages, unlike the LEDs on the Antec tester, which will glow even when a voltage is way below specs. Also the digital meter can be used for testing a lot of other things.
larrymoencurly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-03, 09:00 PM Thread Starter   #7
mrm1957
Member

 
mrm1957's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina

 
I have to remove the ATX plug from the mobo jump the green wire and black wire and everything starts up when I put the ATX plug back on the mobo nothing happens.
I have a plastic case. Is there some way to beat this ?

__________________

AMD Athlon XP 1600 AGOIA @ 1755 Epox 8HKA+ SLK900/ Sunon 50 CFM
AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 2090 Shuttle AK35GT2 SLK800/ Sunon 50 CFM
AMD Sempron 2500 @ 1750 MSI M7NCD NF2
AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 1730 Asus A7V400-MX
AMD Athlon XP 2700 @ 2325 Abit NF7v2.0 SLK 900

"Allright you Devil Dogs let's take that folding hill"
FOLDING @ HOME TEAM 32
Enlist for Team 32 here


Heatware

Last edited by mrm1957; 05-21-03 at 09:13 PM.
mrm1957 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-03, 11:39 PM   #8
Daemonfly
Member



Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NW Pa

 
If the Power supply works fine when not connected to the mobo, then I'd start looking at the mobo/power switch/etc...

What else did you do/change when you got this new PSU?

__________________
New build coming soon: Q6600 | Abit IP35-Pro | EVGA 8800GT 512mb | Tt Mozart TX case | 2-loop watercooling

Heatware
Daemonfly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-03, 06:58 AM Thread Starter   #9
mrm1957
Member

 
mrm1957's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina

 
So far I have replaced the mobo, CPU, heatsink. Mobo: Shuttle
AK35GT2, CPU: AMD XP 2100 w/ Volcano 9 and Thermaltake variable speed fan set to run at full speed. I think it could be the switch itself since it seems to work whem jumpered. It is on the right pins on the mobo. I'll check the switch after work and get back with the results.

__________________

AMD Athlon XP 1600 AGOIA @ 1755 Epox 8HKA+ SLK900/ Sunon 50 CFM
AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 2090 Shuttle AK35GT2 SLK800/ Sunon 50 CFM
AMD Sempron 2500 @ 1750 MSI M7NCD NF2
AMD Athlon XP 2100 AIUHB @ 1730 Asus A7V400-MX
AMD Athlon XP 2700 @ 2325 Abit NF7v2.0 SLK 900

"Allright you Devil Dogs let's take that folding hill"
FOLDING @ HOME TEAM 32
Enlist for Team 32 here


Heatware
mrm1957 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-03, 10:55 AM   #10
kamz
Member



Join Date: May 2003

 
400 psu has got that bit extra juice
kamz is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?