• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I just got my pc, now what.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tcg23

Registered
I just got my Via EPIA 800Mhz MiniITX barebones Motherboard, 256mb of PC133 SDRAM, and a case in the mail. Despite how stupid the title of this post sounds I do know how to build a computer.
My question is, what burnin process is a good way to test the unit?
I bought all my parts from directron and I got the RAM tested.

This computer is going to be sitting on my floor and will act as the gateway between the internet (cable broadband) and my LAN, I will be running OpenBSD on it. I could load Win98 and run Prime95 and Memtest86. I've never done a "BurnIn" process before? Normally I just leave it on for 24 hours, no stress tests or anything.

Via EPIA 800Mhz Barebones
Directron 256mb of PC133 SDRAM (tested)
Directron V21 Case
Tia,
-TheComputerGuy23

I guess my main question is, is it really needed? I won't be overclocking but I guess a torture test of Prime95 wouldn't hurt. I'll just throw a quick install of Win98 on it and Prime95 it, since I don't have broadband yet, I might install games and see how well those MiniITX boards play. Thanks for the help..
-TheComputerGuy23

I recommend just letting it sit idle in windows for 24 hours before starting a burn in program.

ok, I'm still in the assembly proccess. I ran into a problem though. I am going to need 2 NIC cards, there is one onboard, so I got a low profile PCI NIC card in a trade. The NIC card has a full back plane and the PCI slot doesn't match up with the 4 small I/O slots on the back of the case.
Look that the links I posted about, you can see the pic's for the back of the case at directron.

I am building my sister an identical computer, I might order a different case for her and use that case and give her this one.