Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

another dumb would you rather ???'s thread

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-03, 11:00 PM Thread Starter   #1
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
another dumb would you rather ???'s thread


well ive been nice to my cpu over the last few months only running 2vcore @2.3ghz 221 fsb while ive been testing alot of other things.
xp1700 jiuhb dut 1.6v
but the reason was i could only get above 2v if i ran my chip at 200fsb.its a mobo issue,but im working on it.
so im going back to beating it into submission.
2.1vcore @2.4ghz 200fsb 2.0-2-2-5 2.8vdimm now running folding.
prime is just to hot above 2.1v imo.
it will be a week or 2 of slow work but ive not killed a cpu yet with my routines

i want it back to my prevous running of 2.2vcore 2.47ghz and my 1gig oc
BUT! i loose 20fsb so far in doing this.but im almost sure with enough burn ins on this mobo at this setting ill get 210fsb at least with 2.2vcore.
some odd reason this is happening to the nf7-s mobos with high vcore and high fsb at the same time.

so in the end pick a prefered setting you would use.
1= 2.47ghz 2.2vcore 200-210 fsb 2.0-2-2-5
2= 2.31ghz 2vcore 221fsb 2.0-2-2-5

and yes my cooling system is upto the task.

__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-03, 11:03 PM   #2
altec
polka dot ninja

 
altec's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA

 
Ahhhh Death, back to pushing everything to the limit i see . I would go for the lower overall Mhz, and the higher FSB...it always seems to yield better benchies that way.

__________________
The rig was destroyed by a scissor-happy maniac with a grudge

:argue: :bang head
altec is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-03, 11:05 PM   #3
timmyqwest
Disabled

 
timmyqwest's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: illinois

 
#2 by far

RAM is often overlooked...it's like saying you got a beefy engine but ***** tires

thats just my opinion
timmyqwest is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-03, 11:07 PM Thread Starter   #4
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
ummm hell yeh! smokem if ya gottem
but yeh thats what kinda advice im looking for.
but in 3dmark2k3 the fsb isnt as much an issue as mhz.plus also in nforce2 mobos the fsb doesnt affect agp/pci stuff so it isnt as important as it used to be.

ill have to run some tests soon when i get my conditioning on the cpu finished and back at 2.2vcore.

__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-03, 11:09 PM   #5
altec
polka dot ninja

 
altec's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA

 
ROFL, I cannot believe you run a 2.2v vcore regularly...For my highest oc @ 2.5Ghz, I have to run close to 1.9v and it scares the hell outta me.

__________________
The rig was destroyed by a scissor-happy maniac with a grudge

:argue: :bang head
altec is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-03, 11:16 PM Thread Starter   #6
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
generaly i do keep a spare cpu just for this ocasion.
yours is a dlt 1.5v ,mines a dut 1.6v chip.
id NEVER run your chip above 1.9vcore either.those 1.5v chips are like glass walls.

__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-03, 11:22 PM   #7
altec
polka dot ninja

 
altec's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA

 
It doesn't help to appease me to run it higher when at 1.9v it hits around 57C full load.

__________________
The rig was destroyed by a scissor-happy maniac with a grudge

:argue: :bang head
altec is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-03, 11:27 PM Thread Starter   #8
deathstar13
FSB FRIEK

 
deathstar13's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by altec
It doesn't help to appease me to run it higher when at 1.9v it hits around 57C full load.
running sandra's burn in im doing 25c
2.4ghz 2.1vcore

if i can get the mobo coaxed over 210fsb and 2.47ghz is my goal.
i know i could mod the mobo with extra caps on the cpu regulation circuits but im doing no mods anymore.

__________________

Alright Brain, you don't like me, and I don't like you. But lets just do this, and I can get back to killing you with beer. -HJS-
deathstar13 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-03, 11:29 PM   #9
altec
polka dot ninja

 
altec's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA

 
I'm definatley looking forward to the watercooling setup I am saving for, I can't stand these temps...I could use a 25C temp with a 2.1vcore...I bet I could get this thing to 2600Mhz if I had that much temp headroom.

__________________
The rig was destroyed by a scissor-happy maniac with a grudge

:argue: :bang head
altec is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?