Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

2600+ or 2500+ barton

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-03, 02:07 PM Thread Starter   #1
LilBuddy
Member

 
LilBuddy's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Irving, Tx

 
2600+ or 2500+ barton


2600+ or 2500+ barton? which would be faster.

can you oveclock the 2600 very much, but you can overclock the barton a lot more right?
LilBuddy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-03, 02:10 PM   #2
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3
Member

 
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York

 
barton
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-03, 03:34 PM   #3
timmyqwest
Disabled

 
timmyqwest's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: illinois

 
barton, not just for the extra cache...but for the extra cache and the ever improving overclockability of them
timmyqwest is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-03, 05:49 PM   #4
bafbrian
Member

 
bafbrian's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by timmyqwest
barton, not just for the extra cache...but for the extra cache and the ever improving overclockability of them
That is really on the money.

You should be able to get about 2.2 - 2.4(maybe) outta a Barton 2500.

In my gaming rig, I have mine at 2.25.
bafbrian is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-03, 05:57 PM   #5
donny_paycheck
Inactive Super Quad Mod

 
donny_paycheck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Barton again, for the same reasons. They overclock very well because their increased die size means lower power density, which translates into greater thermal stability.

Their performance gain from L2 cache doubling is about 3% per mhz.

__________________
Core i7 920 @ 4 GHz, 1.35v
Corsair Nautilus 500 w/DD BIX radiator swap & Apogee GTX
Asus P6T
6GB Corsair Dominator
XFX GeForce GTX 285
WD Raptor 150GB / Hitachi 1TB
Antec P182 / PCP&C Silencer 750
Samsung 2232GW

Sic vis pacem, para bellum.
donny_paycheck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-03, 06:07 PM   #6
tweaker
Member

 
tweaker's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ohio

 
barton.... The stepping i have in my sig,and donnys as well seems to be very nice ocerclockers...


radman
tweaker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-03, 07:02 PM   #7
Braindonor
Member

 
Braindonor's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York

 
Very glad I ran into this thread. I was going to be asking the same question, whether I should get the 2500+ Barton or the 2600+ now I think my mind is made up thanks!
Braindonor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-03, 09:24 PM   #8
Pla
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA

 
Barton!

See sig...
Pla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-29-03, 09:42 PM   #9
timmyqwest
Disabled

 
timmyqwest's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: illinois

 
I know this may be a no no but the barton in my sig does not overvolt due to a small accident with my ram...it runs stock 100% stable, i ran p95 and folded for 3 days with no issues. Anyways it's for sale

*note* it may be my mobo, i'm getting a 1700 via ups tomorrow to test it...if my barton is fine and it's my mobo then i guess i have a DLT3C for sale.

If this offends the moderators just...delete it, and smite me for my mistake

**EDIT** please dont hijack this thread either...if you have anything to say send me a PM or I will delete it

Last edited by timmyqwest; 05-29-03 at 09:50 PM.
timmyqwest is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-30-03, 12:56 AM   #10
tweaker
Member

 
tweaker's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: ohio

 
I have to agree with my dude Rad Man (he uses tweaker's space too) Barton rules...... I have had the most thrills and chills with this product and would recommend to all for playtime! lol
cya all later...
tweaker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-30-03, 08:48 AM   #11
Mustanley

 
Mustanley's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Asheville, NC (Blue Ridge Mtns)

 
I'm with the Barton fanatics

__________________
Q9550 on P5Q-Deluxe(460x8.5=3910MHz), 4x2GB GSkill 1066, 750GB WD Black HD, GTX285(702,1512,2592), Blu-ray, Silverstone OP650, Samsung 1080P 50" Plasma + Dell 2408WFP, MX1000 laser mouse, Saitek backlit keyboard, P182, Xigmatek S1283 Black Knight
Mustanley is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-30-03, 08:50 AM   #12
modenaf1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the terran system

 
barton!!! the barton can get about the ghx wise o/c as the 2600, but, a barton @ 2.3 is much better than a tbred at 2.3
modenaf1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?