• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help on dad's PIII

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tycho4511

Registered
I am pretty new to this hardcore computer modifying so bear with me. Last night I was setting up my dad's three year old PIII-733. I opened it up to look at the parts. (Like I said I am new to this and very curious).

So I put it back together. It boots fine to Win98. I just learned about how important it is to keep a clean desktop and startmenu, so I go through deleting and moving all the shortcuts.

My dad decides he wants to move the comp to a new spot so I power down and move it. I turn it on and now it wont "post" (I think that is the correct term) The initial boot screen comes up telling me what bios it is, what mobo, and the CPU speed. Then the system just hangs with the message on the bottom hit del to enter setup and the next line is 6/12/2000-VT694X-P3V4X. Hitting del or anything else doesn't enter the BIOS.

I then try restarting, I get the same messages only now it displays 366E as the CPU speed. I assume it is automatically lowering the speed to try to boot. It still hangs.

I have not done any overclocking on this system. I was hoping to use it to learn on before my new system gets here. The next step that I am thinking about is trying to clear CMOS or BIOS. But I am not sure if this is the right step or how to do that. I just remember other people advising to do that in similar circumstances.

Sorry for the long post just trying to get all the relevant info out there. I really appreciate any help.