Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Newby overclocker...Help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-04-03, 03:05 PM Thread Starter   #1
Dshurtz74
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buffalo NY

 
Unhappy Newby overclocker...Help


I have been reading this forum for about a week now. I have learned a thing or two but I still have some questions.

Let me start with my system I have a A7N8X delux ver 2.0, Barton 2500+ with corsair XMS 2700 512m. Also I have a WD 80g hd its the 8mb cache one. I'm running XP with an nvidia Ti4200.

Currently I have it oc'd to 2.125 170X12.5. I can't help but want more. I see that on the CPU data base people are running 2.4-2.5 aircooled. I have the coolermaster aero7 HSF. Do you think I can get 200FSB out of my ram? Or should I get 3200 ram. Do I need to change the jumpers on the mb? Currently the jumpers are for 266/333.

Also I wish I could get higher multipliers on my bios without having to alter my chip. If I upgrade the bios will this change? currently 12.5 is the highest. I see other values but if I choose them the system clocks under a gig. Does anyone with this mb and processor config have hight multi's available? Like 14-15x?

Thanks in advance for your help.
Dshurtz74 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-04-03, 03:33 PM   #2
Socket eh?
Member

 
Socket eh?'s Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Canada

 
If you want 2.4+ on air, you'll need high end air. Look into getting a SLK900 and a monster fan to blow on it. As for the ram, see how high you can get it to go. If it won't do 200, then go and get some 3200 sticks.

__________________
[Alienware M15x]
| i7 940XM 3.2GHz - 4GHz - 6970m 710/1000 1.0v |
| 16GB DDR3-1333 - Travelstar 7K1000 - 3x Asus PA238Q |

The coin is still turning.
Socket eh? is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-04-03, 03:43 PM Thread Starter   #3
Dshurtz74
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Buffalo NY

 
Why is the SLK 900 so great? I think the aero7 is pretty nice and a better fan design then others. The HS seem to be well made.
Dshurtz74 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-04-03, 03:53 PM   #4
jonspd
D11 Senior

 
jonspd's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ATL, Ga

10 Year Badge
 
The slk 900 is the best air cooling heatsink out right now.

Yes my slk 800 is very great IMO.

__________________

GD70\PII955@1.4-----------------------------------------------EX58\920@1.3v
17x200\2.2=NB\2k=HT----------------------------------19x200\True@40c\58c
2x1gb@669@7-7-7-18----------------------------------2x2gb@800@7-7-7-21
2405fpw\280's\evga\bfg----------------------------------2005fpw\2x9800gx2
CorsairHX1000\74gbRaptor----------------------------FSP1010\150gbRaptor
CreativeX-Fi-Plat\DvD-rw\Win-7---------------------------------DvD-rw\Win-7
3dMark06=17,650-3dMark05=23,908-Aquamark=216k-Wprime32=6.9sc-Sandra=11kmbs
My Heat---------------------------Folding@Home@Team32-----------------------My WebSite
jonspd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-03, 11:31 AM   #5
modenaf1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: the terran system

 
WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!!!!!!!


yes the slk 900 is THE BEST, but i think the aero 7 is pretty good too. I think a really really good combination would be an SLK-800 and a Thermal Take smt Fan 2

http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...hreadid=180341
modenaf1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-03, 12:11 PM   #6
Edward2
Member


 
Edward2's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Folding@Home in Ball Ground, GA

10 Year Badge
 
Before you buy a new heatsink, what is current CPU temp at 100% load? Most people recommend staying below 50C. This will let you know if you need to consider replacing the heatsink or not.

As for your memory, the only way to know for sure is try. Lower the multiplier to 9x or 10x (so that your CPU speed is not the limiting factor) and raise the FSB in like 5 MHz steps. Then run MemTest at each 5 MHz step, and see if your memory can handle the speed. Of course, you may need to increase the memory voltage a little to get the most out of it.

__________________
Q9300 @ 3.4GHz, Asus P5Q Pro, 4GB OCZ Platinum DDR2-1066, GTX580 @ 900GPU, OCZ Vendetta 2, PC P&C 750W
i5-3570K @ 4.5GHz, Asus P8Z77, 4GB G Skill DDR3-1333, GTX580 @ 900GPU, CM Hyper 212+ HS/F, Corsair 850W
4x 6180SE @ 2.75GHz, SM H8QGi-F, 32GB G Skill DDR3-1333, CM Hyper 212+ HS/F, Redundant 1400W


Folding User Stats
Edward2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-03, 10:08 PM   #7
altec
polka dot ninja

 
altec's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA

 
As edward said, single out the memory with a low multiplier, and see where the memory begins to crap out. I seriously doubt you will hit 200Mhz FSB with PC2700, but it is possible. If you cannot go that high and you really have your heart set on that FSB speed, then I would suggest investing in some high quality Corsair PC3200 or PC3500, and really getting the FSB up there and seeing some really high memory bandwidth. Good luck man.

__________________
The rig was destroyed by a scissor-happy maniac with a grudge

:argue: :bang head
altec is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-03, 10:29 PM   #8
Gautam
Senior Benchmark Addict



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hillsboro, OR

10 Year Badge
 
The Corsair 2700 should be able to reach 200mhz. I don't think it would be worth it for you to get PC3200, unless you wanted over 220. What you have to do to get high fsb's on nForce2 mobo's is remove the FSB jumper entirely. For some reason simply having it there on anything vastly limits your fsb. Your cooling may end up getting in your way, but first I suggest trying to reach 200mhz fsb. Lower it down a little, perhaps to 10x. Once you hit 200, you won't need higher multipliers. Play around with the vDDR and RAM timings. You should get up to 200 with a little tweaking.

__________________
El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway
Gautam is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?