• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

newbie: oc'ing with a7n8x & XP 2600 333mhz FSB ?HELP?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rlr37916

this is my first try at overclocking, so any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

I setup my computer with the following:
* asus a7n8x v2.0 BIOS 1005 (had to flash coz 1002 wouldn't even recognize AMD XP2600)
* AMD XP 2600 333mhx FSB ( i think it's the thoroughbred, not barton, any ways to tell for sure??)
* 256mbX2 pc2100 kingston, k-byte RAM (got em for cheap)
* gf4 mx440 4X AGP 64mb
*100gb wd 7200rpm

I encounter several problems when I try to overclock.

when i set the cpu multiplier from the BIOS to 13.0x (or higher) than 12.5x, the system shows the cpu speed as 853mhz or some other lower speed. however if i set it as 12.0x it shows a speed of 2400+, which seems to be working, so if i go higher in the multiplier it messes up i guess. I don't understand why this is happening, is this because the CPU needs to be unlocked ? do these cpu's come unlocked ( i heard some of them do). if it needs to be unlocked is it very complicated, any suggestion.

when i set the bus speed from 166mhz to higher at 175mhz, the system doesn't even POST, it says "memory error/failure". I have to clear the BIOS and that's a major pain. maybe i have cheap ram, i'm not sure. also when i set the BIOS settings as aggressive, the system doesn't POST either. i even tried increasing the FSB to 177mhz x 2, and keeping the RAM speed to 133mhz, and it doesn't POST either. Is there something i'm doing wrong or do i need to get better RAM.

please help, any suggestions, ideas, links would be kool.
thanks.

- rayasus a7n8x v2.0 BIOS 1005