Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

stuck keys...help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-03, 03:01 PM Thread Starter   #1
lazysmartperson
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cali

 
stuck keys...help


i can't play GTAIII or this other japanese game anymore cause in the game...and only in the game...the computer registers certain keys as pressed...i've switched keyboards...rebooted...

in GTAIII the "W" and the "D" keys are perpetually down...(he just keeps walking forward-right!)

although i have no problems with other games such as Counter-Strike which also uses the "W" and the "D" keys

does anybody have an idea?
lazysmartperson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 04:35 PM   #2
AcEmAsTr
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntingdon UK

 
W - forward
A - Left
S - Back
D - Right
AcEmAsTr is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 09:04 PM Thread Starter   #3
lazysmartperson
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cali

 
was my question too confusing?

I"m saying that in the game...the computer thinks that certain keys are pressed down when i am not pressing them down...

-sarcasm-
thank you so very much acemastr for teaching me the keys...now i can finally play now that i know how to move
-end sarcasm-
lazysmartperson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 09:32 PM   #4
JigPu
Inactive Pokémon Moderator

 
JigPu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA

10 Year Badge
 
I would try looking though the settings for the game, though I honestly don't think you'll find much of anything there.

Also, see if there might be some program running that could be 'pushing' those keys. Only problem with that theory is that it should also be open while playing other games... But it's worth a shot I guess...

This is a weird problem... Sorry if I can't help you much with it
JigPu

__________________
.... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
.... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
.... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
.... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
.... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
.... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


"In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
"GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.
JigPu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-03, 04:07 AM   #5
Carnil
Member

 
Carnil's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Spokane, USA

 
A couple of things you might try:
1) Press the "stuck" key while in the game
2) Alt+TAB out of the game, hold down one of the "stuck" keys, use the mouse to switch back to the game, and release the key.

The second trick will send the program a "key has been released" message without first sending it a "key pressed" message.
Carnil is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-03, 01:48 PM Thread Starter   #6
lazysmartperson
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cali

 
nope that doesn't work...thanks though carnil
lazysmartperson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-16-03, 04:20 AM   #7
TidyBowl
Member

 
TidyBowl's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002

 
can you remap the keys in that game.

also in some games if you select joystick it will still allow keyboard entry -- this might helpt -- who knows.

good luck

T
TidyBowl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-17-03, 02:00 AM Thread Starter   #8
lazysmartperson
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cali

 
oh my god tidybowl you are my savior!...i am forever indebted to you!

i'm so happy i'm using smilies!

i had a n64 controller usb adapter...but my friend took back the n64 controller...

i just went to device manager and uninstalled it...voila!

rock on tidybowl

oh...and thanks to all the other's who contributed to this thread
lazysmartperson is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?