Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

which amd for oc?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-03, 06:24 PM Thread Starter   #1
noob_123
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY

 
which amd for oc?


Which AMD processor for under $150 will i be able to oc to the highest speed
noob_123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 06:25 PM   #2
glock19owner
Member

 
glock19owner's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002

 
Depends on what you are using for cooling...
glock19owner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 06:27 PM Thread Starter   #3
noob_123
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY

 
thinkin about the thermaltake xaser case wit 7 fans and the best heatsink what ever that is.
noob_123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 06:29 PM   #4
arnoldma
Member

 
arnoldma's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Essex, UK

 
get the new barton stepping it seems to be doing well:

barton 2500+ AQXEA 0319

and for HSF get slk800 + thermaltake smart fan 2

__________________
New Intel rig. need sorting out before adding specs!
arnoldma is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 06:34 PM Thread Starter   #5
noob_123
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY

 
what is AQXEA 0319 ?
noob_123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 06:54 PM   #6
rugbyroy
Member

 
rugbyroy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ramadi, iraq

 
those are the steppings. They tell when the chip was made, and sort of what caste it was made from. Different steppings are better for overclocking.
rugbyroy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 06:55 PM Thread Starter   #7
noob_123
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY

 
where can i get a barton 2500 with AQXEA 0319 steppiings and should i get the Thermalright SLK-800(A) or Thermalright SLK-800(u) and can the barton 2500 actually be oced 2 higher speeds than the 2600+?

Last edited by noob_123; 06-14-03 at 07:01 PM.
noob_123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:03 PM   #8
rugbyroy
Member

 
rugbyroy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ramadi, iraq

 
I'm not sure where you can get that. excaliberpc.com probably has them. As far as the slk800 the A is probably easier to mount. It just sort of snaps onto your mobo. The U needs to be screwed into the mobo, but it's a lot more move friendly, if you go to lan's a lot. They are both very good, so you won't lose if you go with either A or U. If you want something a little cheaper than the 800 or 900 you might get the thermalright sk7. It's also a very good heatsink, for not as much money. I'd suggest getting a smartfan II as well to put on the heatsink.
rugbyroy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:04 PM Thread Starter   #9
noob_123
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY

 
"and can the barton 2500 actually be oced 2 higher speeds than the 2600+?"
noob_123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:08 PM   #10
rugbyroy
Member

 
rugbyroy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ramadi, iraq

 
From what I've seen the 2500 barton can usually overclock to around 2.2-2.3 on air, with a good stepping. That also depends on many other variables, such as your memory, motherboard and don't forget luck..
rugbyroy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:09 PM   #11
glock19owner
Member

 
glock19owner's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by noob_123
what is AQXEA 0319 ?
AQXEA is the stepping...03 is the year it was made...19 is the week of the year it was made...

The XP2500's can usally get between 2.1 - 2.2...some people have reported a much higher OC then the average above with the 2500 0319's...almost all of the 319's which ever AMD CPU you get seems to be the best week to get...the 1700 319 get around 2.4 - 2.5 on air cool also...but the barton will still be a better performer because of the extra L2 cache...512 for the bartons...256 for the Tbreds...
glock19owner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:09 PM Thread Starter   #12
noob_123
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY

 
can any amd under 150 bucks oc to 2.5 or higher?
noob_123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:09 PM   #13
rugbyroy
Member

 
rugbyroy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ramadi, iraq

 
Actually if you want the highest clock speed for under 150 bucks get the 1700 xpmw0310. It can usually go to 2.4-2.5 on air, again pending your mobo and ram..
rugbyroy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:10 PM   #14
glock19owner
Member

 
glock19owner's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002

 
since we all posted at the same time...you might want to read my above post...
glock19owner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:12 PM Thread Starter   #15
noob_123
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY

 
lol so should i get 2500 or 1700? !!
noob_123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:13 PM   #16
rugbyroy
Member

 
rugbyroy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ramadi, iraq

 
That's your decision.
rugbyroy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:14 PM Thread Starter   #17
noob_123
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY

 
does the extra cache on the barton make more of a dif then the faster speeds on the 1700?
noob_123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:14 PM   #18
glock19owner
Member

 
glock19owner's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002

 
do you want strickly a high OCer or one that will give the best performance with still a pretty high OC...

XP2500...good OCer...better performance...
XP1700...great OCer...wont perform as well as the barton...

example...a XP2500 OCed to say 2.3 or so will still out perform a 1700 running at 2.5...because of the added L2 cache the barton has...
glock19owner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:15 PM Thread Starter   #19
noob_123
Member



Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NY

 
will go with the barton 2500 thanks all
noob_123 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-03, 07:16 PM   #20
rugbyroy
Member

 
rugbyroy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: ramadi, iraq

 
I believe the extra cache provides a 5% difference in performance if the 1700 and the barton were at the same speed. So if you can get more than a 5% difference in the 1700 overclock then the 1700 would be better. I could be wrong about the 5% difference, I'm not really sure about the actual numbers, but it's not that big of a difference I don't think. Either way you're getting a good chip. I am very pleased with my 1700, but of course being an avid overclocker I would love to get my hands on a barton, then a 64 etc etc...
rugbyroy is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?