Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Buying DDR400 - Samsung or KingMax?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-03, 03:25 PM Thread Starter   #1
RideGuy
Member

 
RideGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto

 
Question Buying DDR400 - Samsung or KingMax?


Looking at either Samsung or KingMax DDR400 for running in dual channel on a Springdale chipset. They are both cheap and readily available. I won't be overclocking this box, stability is a must. I own 2 sticks of KingMax, and so far they've been great, but I haven't run them at 200mhz(400DDR) yet.

Has anyone had any experience (or know someone) running either of these in dual channel at 200mhz(400DDR)? Any problems?



Thanks in advance,
Ride

__________________
Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE
RideGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-16-03, 04:01 PM   #2
Zerileous

 
Zerileous's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO

 
maximum PC reccomends Coarsair Micro but i dont have any real experiences-just a suggestion.

__________________
Main Rig
|Athlon XP Barton 2500+ @ 200x11=2200 MHz @ Stock Vcore ~ SLK-947U w/ 92mm Enermax (64CFM) ~ Abit NF7-S Rev. 2.0 ~ 512MB PC3200 Mushkin Black Level 1 @ stock vdimm. 2-3-2-11 ~ ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with XT hardware and XT bios Mod ~ Onboard Soundstorm ~ Logitech Z640s ~ WD Special Edition 120GB ~ Samsung 5400rpm 40GB file drive ~ Sony DRU-710A Dual layer +/- DVD Burner ~ 16x LiteOn DVD-ROM ~ Logitech MX500 Optical Mouse|
Lappy: Dell Inspiron 9300
|Pentium M 1.86 Ghz ~ 1GB DDR II ~ nVidia GeForce FX Go6800 256MB ~ 17" Widescreen 9200x1200 ~ 60GB 7200RPM HDD ~ DVD Drive/CD Burner combo ~ Centrino a/b/g interal WiFi and internal Bluetooth ~ 2x 80watt/hour batteries|
Zerileous is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-16-03, 08:43 PM Thread Starter   #3
RideGuy
Member

 
RideGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto

 
I'm not sure that Coarsair Micro is available at any stores near me. I will take a look. Thanks for the sugestion.


Ride

__________________
Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE
RideGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-17-03, 09:41 AM   #4
Zeke968
Member

 
Zeke968's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003

 
I've been using the samsung in my sig for 10 days now and it's working fine. The shop I bought it from had it running stable in a new Epox 8rda3+ at 220 FSB. After I do the VDD volt mod on mine board I'll see how far I can push it.

My timings are relaxed right now at 7-3-3 2.5
Zeke968 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-17-03, 09:43 AM   #5
Zeke968
Member

 
Zeke968's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003

 
Sig corrected below, fyi the fsb is 197
Zeke968 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-17-03, 10:13 AM   #6
01_VTEC SE
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003

 
my kingmax ddr 400 sucks big time...... can't get it stable past 180.
01_VTEC SE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-17-03, 10:41 AM   #7
Sickofthelies
Disabled

 
Sickofthelies's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Northern Virginia

 
I have bad experience with Kingmaxm ,my ddr333 doesnt run past 280mhz...
Sickofthelies is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-17-03, 10:57 AM Thread Starter   #8
RideGuy
Member

 
RideGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally posted by 01_VTEC SE
my kingmax ddr 400 sucks big time...... can't get it stable past 180.
Quote:
Sickofthelies
I have bad experience with Kingmaxm ,my ddr333 doesnt run past 280mhz...
When did you guys buy your KingMax? I've noticed that the new chips are different then the old ones, they are red in color now. I have KingMax 400DDR. With my 2.4B@3Ghz I can run these sticks at 207.5Mhz(415DDR) at CL2.5 and 333DDR at 2CL. I am actually very happy with this memory so far, but I have heard allot of people say the opposite. It sounds like my best bet is to go for the Samsung.


Thanks for your help guys,
Ride

__________________
Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE
RideGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-17-03, 02:26 PM   #9
Albuquerque
Member

 
Albuquerque's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North America

 
Had a piece of KingMax DDR400that wouldn't run much faster than about DDR285. Threw 2.8v at it and got like DDR300, which wasn't much better. Returned it to NewEgg, got another piece which is the one you see below (maxxes at 422). I think it's "cheap" ram in every sense of the word, but it's not necessarily bad. I'm actually kicking around the idea to purchase another 512mb stick of it...

__________________
Sis 461 VLB-3.................................|.Gigabyte GA-X38-DS4
AMD 486DX4 133 at 200Mhz 50FSB x 4 3.5v.......|.E8400 E0 3.0Ghz at 4.5Ghz 500FSB x 9 1.48v
S3 864P 4mb VRAM VLB at 48/54 on 50mhz bus....|.2 x Sapphire 4850 512mb at 700/1100 PCIE 2.0 x16
4 x 32mb HMC PC33 SIMM's50Mhz 2-1-1-3 at 3.3v.|.4 x 1Gb Crucial Ballistix D9GMH 1000Mhz 5-5-5-12 at 2.1v
2 x Western Digital 4200RPM Caviar 4Gb ATA66..|.Samsung 7200RPM Spinpoint F1 750Gb SATA-II
Mitsumi
4x CDRW PIO-1.........................|.Samsung 20x DVD+/-RW SATA
Magic Color!
Albuquerque is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-03, 04:42 PM   #10
astroglide
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2003

 
if i wanted ultra stability without sacrificing features i'd pick up an intel d865perl motherboard with crucial pc3200
astroglide is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-03, 06:02 PM Thread Starter   #11
RideGuy
Member

 
RideGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally posted by astroglide
if i wanted ultra stability without sacrificing features i'd pick up an intel d865perl motherboard with crucial pc3200

Thanks for the advise, but I'm really looking for a discount machine. This will be strickly a business machine, and will not be used for gaming or OCing. I'm trying to get the most for the least.

AOpen H340 Slim Desktop
P4P800-VM 865G mATX w/ VGA, Audio, Lan, SATA
P4 2.4C
2x256meg Samsung DDR
30gig 7200rpm Maxtor DMP 8

__________________
Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE
RideGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-03, 07:30 PM   #12
astroglide
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2003

 
uh...

the d865perl is an intel brand motherboard, so it has next to no overclocking options. it also has firewire and the best onboard sound available, csa bus gigabit ethernet, and costs $109 shipped. it is well worth the FOUR DOLLAR DIFFERENCE between it and the p4p800-vm to get all those features AND the intel name - you'll still need to cough up a couple bucks for cheapo video, but you're getting a LOT more.

if you don't want crucial memory you can go as cheap as you want, but you specifically mentioned stability. it really doesn't get any more standard/supported/stable than intel board, intel cpu, and crucial memory.
astroglide is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-03, 09:52 PM Thread Starter   #13
RideGuy
Member

 
RideGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto

 
I understand what your saying. To the power user the d865perl would be the better choice along with better memory. This needs to be a stable DISCOUNT comp. Asus has a good rep, as well as Samsung, and you can't beat the price.



Ride

__________________
Rig1: ASUS P5Q Pro | E7300 | 2x2GB OCZ Reaper PC2-6400 CL4| NX7900GT (temp card) | CM Extreme Power 600W SLI | Antec SLK3700-BQE
RideGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-03, 10:12 PM   #14
clash
Premium Member #10

 
clash's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canyon,Tx.

10 Year Badge
 
I have been using Samsung chips for the last 5 months in dual mode. Mine are fine, and i ran memtest on them for a day and a half, i never did get an error....

__________________
i7 2600k @ 4.5
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Corsair Vengeance 4x8
Mushkin Chronos 120
XFX 7950 BE 1050/1500
Rosewill Lightning-1000 PSU
clash is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-03, 05:19 AM   #15
Zeke968
Member

 
Zeke968's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003

 
Clash, what are your timings set at? Thanks
Zeke968 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?