Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

First SIMMs, now DIMMs, what's next? QIMMs?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-03, 10:49 AM Thread Starter   #1
star882
Disabled

 
star882's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003

 
First SIMMs, now DIMMs, what's next? QIMMs?


In the past, I remembered that when the Pentium first came out, you had to install SIMMs in pairs.
Then they made DIMMs that can be installed one by one on a Pentium(I actually still have one of those Pentiums).
Now, the Britney is out, and you have to install DIMMs in pairs, and the same thing goes with dual-channel P4 boards.
What's next? QIMMs(Quad Inline Memory Module)?
BTW, They say that the 128-bit memory controller in the Britney is to help reduce "digital rush hour".
star882 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-21-03, 11:12 AM   #2
ninthebin
Member

 
ninthebin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Liverpool, UK

 
rimms?
ninthebin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-21-03, 11:14 AM   #3
amdperson
Member

 
amdperson's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Johannesburg - South Africa

 
trimms maybe

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black edition @ Stock
Asus M4A78T-E
4GB Kingston DDR3 1333 @ Stock
XFX 1GB HD-6850
1TB Seagate 7200 & 1TB Hitachi 7200
18.5" Benq LED LCD Monitor
Coolermaster 750W GS
Samsung DVD RW/Ram
amdperson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-21-03, 11:49 AM   #4
rottenspam
Member



Join Date: May 2002
Location: Dickinson, TX

 
Who knows?

A little history as to the nameing....

Originally after there were individual DRAMS the first widely used bundling was a SIMM

The first SIMMS (Single inline memory module), where 30 pins or 16bits which had to be installed in pairs on a 32bit motherboard, like 386's, 486's, etc.

Then came 72pin SIMMS, which were 32bits in width so a 32 bit memory bus only required one simm.

Then along came DIMMS, which are 64bits wide so that the current 64bit wide memory databus on machines only needs one memory module.
rottenspam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-03, 05:42 PM Thread Starter   #5
star882
Disabled

 
star882's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003

 
"rimms?"
The Britney is designed to use DDR RAM, making it use RDRAM will require significant core design changes(integrated DDR controller).
Besides, AMD somehow doesn't want to use RDRAM.
Oh, and speaking of the integrated DDR controller, how does DMA(Direct Memory Access(accessing RAM without the data going through the CPU)) work in Britney machines?
star882 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-03, 06:14 PM   #6
ninthebin
Member

 
ninthebin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Liverpool, UK

 
how does moving the MC prohibit CPU access, it would be faster CPU access as the integrated controller provides a much lower latency.

is britney some new AMD chipset or something, you seem to like saying it alot so it must be something important - but god damn thats one stupid name for anything
ninthebin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-22-03, 07:07 PM Thread Starter   #7
star882
Disabled

 
star882's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003

 
"how does moving the MC prohibit CPU access, it would be faster CPU access as the integrated controller provides a much lower latency."
I understand the part about the lower latency, but how do other devices(like a hard drive controller or AGP video card) get access to the RAM without the data going through the CPU?
"is britney some new AMD chipset or something, you seem to like saying it alot so it must be something important - but god damn thats one stupid name for anything"
The Britney is a CPU with part of the north bridge integrated onto the core(the other part of the north bridge is often referred to as the "south bridge" in Britney machines(one time, I heard an "expert" in computers who has not yet heard about the Britney say, "That's a nice machine, but why is there Britney printed onto the north bridge heatsink?"(the small chip with the small heatsink is the south bridge, the north bridge is inside the CPU))).
star882 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-03, 10:30 PM   #8
Caffinehog
Übercaffinated Member

 
Caffinehog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In the lab

 
Quote:
Originally posted by star882
Besides, AMD somehow doesn't want to use RDRAM.
Before, AMD couldn't make use of RDRAM's bandwidth. (P3's certainly can't.) Now, RDRAM is about to fall behind DDR, and Intel has phased out RDRAM. Plus, RDRAM costs more. RDRAM would be a bad bet for AMD.
Caffinehog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-03, 10:37 PM   #9
Caffinehog
Übercaffinated Member

 
Caffinehog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In the lab

 
Quote:
Originally posted by star882
The Britney is a CPU with part of the north bridge integrated onto the core(the other part of the north bridge is often referred to as the "south bridge" in Britney machines(one time, I heard an "expert" in computers who has not yet heard about the Britney say, "That's a nice machine, but why is there Britney printed onto the north bridge heatsink?"(the small chip with the small heatsink is the south bridge, the north bridge is inside the CPU))).
I'd like to integrate my southbridge into Britney.
Caffinehog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-23-03, 11:51 PM   #10
JohnnyTheRed
Member

 
JohnnyTheRed's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Brockton MA

 
So "Britney" is a chip, and not a chipset? Or is it? And is "Britney" for AMD or Intel? And wtf came up with the bright idea of naming this "Britney"?!?!

I guess I missed something...

__________________
P4 2.4B @2700 - 18x150 --- Asus P4PE - R/GBL/F/SATA --- 512mb Corsair XMS PC3200 @ 400mhz 2-3-3-6T --- ATI AIW-9800 --- WD740GD & WD800JB --- Sparkle 400w --- Chieftec Dragon Server Case
My Heatware
JohnnyTheRed is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-03, 12:49 AM   #11
vaeltaja
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern California

 
That Britney sounds awfully lot like the Opteron. Opterons have portions of the northbridge functionality on the CPU itself..
vaeltaja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-24-03, 11:02 PM Thread Starter   #12
star882
Disabled

 
star882's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003

 
"I'd like to integrate my southbridge into Britney."
Well, if they do, power usage will go up(the Britney already consumes 130w, why make it worse?).
star882 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-03, 08:06 AM   #13
McWarren
Member

 
McWarren's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London, UK

 
I think that was a joke...
McWarren is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-03, 02:43 PM   #14
twenty6
Member

 
twenty6's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: 2003 NBA CHAMPS, San Antonio SPURS!!

 
Say who? Britney as in Britney "Look-at-my-ta-tas" Spears? You mean that Britney? Duh!
twenty6 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-25-03, 11:18 PM Thread Starter   #15
star882
Disabled

 
star882's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003

 
"Britney as in Britney "Look-at-my-ta-tas" Spears?"
LOL, My friend Tom Stage said that Spears(Simultaneous Parallel Execution ARchitecture System) is just a fancy name for a vector unit(this started in a private chat room BTW).
star882 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-03, 07:53 AM   #16
Filter
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Watertown Ny

 
who the heck is brittany?
Filter is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-03, 08:16 AM Thread Starter   #17
star882
Disabled

 
star882's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003

 
I E-mailed my friend Caitlin Williams about this and she said,
"Perhaps a more logical way of thinking is that the memory controller is not integrated onto the actual CPU, but they do both now reside on the same chip.
So the memory controller is still independantly accessable (through the hypertransport link), as it would be if it were a seperate chip."

Last edited by star882; 06-26-03 at 08:08 PM.
star882 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?