Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

How do you know when your OC'ed RAM needs more juice?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-03, 05:16 PM Thread Starter   #1
FACTION95Si
Member

 
FACTION95Si's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alta Loma, CA

 
Unhappy How do you know when your OC'ed RAM needs more juice?


How do you know when your OC'ed RAM needs more juice? Are there any signs that indicate that your ram needs more voltage when running at a high frequency?

__________________

New computer OTW
FACTION95Si is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-03, 06:38 PM   #2
Caffinehog
Übercaffinated Member

 
Caffinehog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In the lab

 
Your computer crashes.

Also, you can check it with memtest86. Errors = memory problem.
That doesn't mean more juice will necessarily fix it, though.

What voltage are you running it at now?
Caffinehog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-03, 07:00 PM Thread Starter   #3
FACTION95Si
Member

 
FACTION95Si's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alta Loma, CA

 
Unhappy


Right now its at default voltage (2.5V ?). My 2.66B doesn't like running over 149MHz FSB. I've always wondered if it was the 1x512 XMS3500 that wasn't getting enough juice. I've tested it in memtest at 153FSB and it ran without error. But maybe running in windows is a different story?

I just replaced the single 512 of XMS3500 with 2x256 of XMS3700.

Right now the voltage is at default, timings are set at SPD (3,4,4,8). Memory is running at 183MHz(333 ratio). my fsb is set at 149MHz. Im going to run prime to see if its stable. It was with my old board.

__________________

New computer OTW
FACTION95Si is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-03, 07:11 PM   #4
Xeeozees
Member

 
Xeeozees's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Belfast, United Kingdom

 
I had to raise my voltage from 2.6v default to 2.8v to get it stable at 3.3 - using 5:4 divider. Memory is rock solid at 220Mhz now (440DDR)
Xeeozees is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-03, 08:47 PM   #5
Caffinehog
Übercaffinated Member

 
Caffinehog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In the lab

 
No, that memory is getting plenty of juice. Your processor probably maxes out at 3.0ghz. You could up your memory ratio, or you could buy another processor. (2.4C or 2.6C) then sell the old one on ebay, and be out maybe $30, or maybe make a profit!
Caffinehog is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?