• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

This power cable connects to?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hungry Jack

Registered
Aye yi yi, there's a lot of power cables coming from the PSU...

I have an Antec 1080 AMG with a 430W Truepower PSU. I'm new to putting a system together and the power cables have confused me. It seems that they're not all equal...

For starters, there are multiple connections for each cable. There is one that says, "Fan only" and that has two connections on it. Does that mean I can only connect two fans? Do I use the same cable for two fans or just one? The cables coming from the fans also have two connections. Do I connect fans together and just use one power cable to power them all? The 'Fan Only' cables also only have two wires running into the plugs, a yellow and black, which is odd since the fans have four...

With the other cables, there are three connections on each cable. To make matters more confusing, there are different plugs. Two of the cables with three connections have two of the same connection (these fit the power plugs on the devices) but one of the plugs is a small one. A third cable has the same three plugs (all power plugs that fit the devices).

A fourth cable has only one connection but it's a weird setup and doesn't seem to fit anywhere.

I've already plugged the two motherboard connectors in as well as the PSU fan cable, so all I have to do is figure out which power cable fits which device.

There is one that says, "Fan only" and that has two connections on it. Does that mean I can only connect two fans?
Connect as many fans as you want to this

Two of the cables with three connections have two of the same connection (these fit the power plugs on the devices) but one of the plugs is a small one.