• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Linux AntiVirus

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Twyst

I'm just curious but what antivirus program do you use on your favorie flavor of linux? I'm looking for something to add to my Knoppix CD for diagnosis purposes. My idea is to get a re-writable CD put Knoppix on there with some security/antivirus/system diagnosis tools and keep them update for use on customer's who's systems aren't working correctly. Seems like it could be pretty useful especially with data recovery type endeavors.

I have been using Linux for 6 months and am a subscriber to P-Cillin for Win '98 and have yet to see a virus that will actually affect a linux system. Everyone that I have seen affect M$. I suppose they are around and will become more prominent as the number of users increases. The greatest risk for Linux is intrusion especially if you're on ADSL links and hence the need for an effective firewall.

Last edited:
I don't use any antivirus or firewall software on my Linux boxes. Might be a bit foolish, but they are behind a NAT device, so I figure they are reasonably secure. Nothing of importance (mainly old school reports) on them anyways.

I think the main security concern is keeping your server software up to date, and not running daemons you don't need. Outdated daemons that you don't even know are running are diasters waiting to happen (this is a good reason why Red Hat and the like shouldn't install every server under the sun by default). I don't run any servers, besides the occansional MOH:AA or BF1942, so I don't feel my system is at high risk.

Even if I did, I wouldn't bother with Linux antivirus software; I would just keep my software updated and stay on top of security announcements.