Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Startinh Hardcore CAD and 3DS Max, what card?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-03, 02:41 AM Thread Starter   #1
Maxwell Murder
Member

 
Maxwell Murder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boston, MA

 
Starting Hardcore CAD and 3DS Max, what card?


Well schools starting up soon and I'm hittin my 4th year of CAD and 3DS Max. Which card should I be buying? I was thinking the 9800 pro 128mb, but Is there something else out there that I could benefit from more?
Maxwell Murder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-03, 03:30 AM   #2
MooMasster716
Member

 
MooMasster716's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fontana, CA

 
From what i know the 9800 is built for speed and not details that the cad people need. You need a workstation card, like a ATI Fire gl X1, 8800 or a Nivdia quatro or fx series. Pros use Wildcats and stuff but expect to pay 500 and up for new gen cards, i dont do cad and stuff but its what i know.

__________________
Intel Q9550 @3ghz ### Xigmatech HDT-1283
4GB G.Skill F2 6400CL5-2GBPQ @840mhz
Gigabyte EP43-UD3L ### XFX Nvidia GTX275
500gb Seagate 7200.10
1TB Samsung F3
1000Watt Cooler Master Real Power PS
10 case fans of pure silence on 2 Sunbeam Fan Controlers
CoolerMaster 690
My Heatware
MooMasster716 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-03, 04:43 AM   #3
TheGr8s1
Member

 
TheGr8s1's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Never Never Land

 
Quote:
Originally posted by MooMasster716
From what i know the 9800 is built for speed and not details that the cad people need. You need a workstation card, like a ATI Fire gl X1, 8800 or a Nivdia quatro or fx series. Pros use Wildcats and stuff but expect to pay 500 and up for new gen cards, i dont do cad and stuff but its what i know.
I use Cad and stuff on a daily basis. The Nvidia Quadro is a really nice card to get. Runs better than the ATI Fire Gl as far as I'm concerned. We have both at work. Don't know about the others mentioned (wildcats?) but the Quadro is very good for cad.
TheGr8s1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-03, 05:05 AM   #4
Evnas
Member

 
Evnas's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Wildcats are the best of the best when it comes to CAD and 3D art. But for that "best of the best" performance and quality, you get premium prices. The VP990 Pro (the best model to date for "average" designers) costs about $800, but comes with 512mb of DDR on a 256bit bus for those extra large projects.

The VP880 is also a damn good card, coming in at about $450 with 256mb of memory.

As for the 9800 Pro...you definatly dont want to go with that, unless you will be doing lots of gaming as well. The 9800 Pro, and other "regular" video cards, have drivers written for games, with little optimisation for 3D programs like 3DS Max and CAD.

Heres more info on the Wildcats

http://www.3dlabs.com/product/wildcatvp/

Now, of course you have the best, of the best, of the best from Wildcat, which can run you up to over $3,000, heh.

Last edited by Evnas; 07-13-03 at 05:16 AM.
Evnas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-03, 05:23 AM   #5
TheGr8s1
Member

 
TheGr8s1's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Never Never Land

 
Quote:
Now, of course you have the best, of the best, of the best from Wildcat, which can run you up to over $3,000, heh.
Geez that's more expensive then my entire system put together.
TheGr8s1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-03, 05:23 AM   #6
TheGr8s1
Member

 
TheGr8s1's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Never Never Land

 
Ain't it late in Seattle. I'm a few hours north of u. 3:22am here.
TheGr8s1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-03, 05:52 AM   #7
Evnas
Member

 
Evnas's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by TheGr8s1
Ain't it late in Seattle. I'm a few hours north of u. 3:22am here.
Na...its early (morning, but thats not the point )

And yea, those Wildcat cards are expensive, but nothing can come close to them in power, or quality
Evnas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-13-03, 09:08 AM   #8
Cowboy X

 
Cowboy X's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Folding in Barbados

10 Year Badge
 
If you can't afford the Wildcat get a Quadro , the Quadro drivers are currently better than ATI's workstation drivers though I think the ATI hardware is better .

If however you are like me and can't aford either , then get either a 9800 pro or 5900Ultra , you should look around at Rage3d.com or Nvnews.net and see if there are any easy software modifications which can allow these cards to be modded to their professional versions (ATI Firegl , Nvidia QuadroFX ) . If there are no mods , get the 9800 Pro , if there are mods for the 5900 or even 5800 FX cards then get one of them and quickly turn it into a Quadro .

__________________
1/Asus P6T SE,Core i7 920 ( H2O ),ATI Radeon 5870 ( H2O ),OCZ Reaper 6 GB,OCZ Z 1000W modular ps,Seagate 7200.8 250 x2,WD Caviar Black 1TB,Nec AD-7170A,LG GGC Asus USB3.0 and SATA 6g cardBlu-ray/HD DVD drive and burner,Modified Koolance Tower , Swiftech GTZ, Koolance chipset and memory blocks, Modified Maze4 GPU cooler,Vista Ultimate 64
2/Sony Vaio SR590,Core 2 Duo P7450, ATI 4570m, 4GB DDR2, Win 7 64bit, Crucial M4
3/PS3 80 GB and 160 GB
Intermittent FOLDING: system 1, ATI 5870 and PS3 for Team 32
" Fear of GOD is the beginning of wisdom "
"The grass withereth, the flower fadeth, but the word of our GOD shall stand forever."

Fold for Team 32
Cowboy X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 12:21 AM   #9
TheGr8s1
Member

 
TheGr8s1's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Never Never Land

 
Yes I heard of that softmod too but I'm not sure how it performs after the mod.
TheGr8s1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 12:24 AM   #10
emericanchaos
Member

 
emericanchaos's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Williamsport, PA

 
he said he wasn't aware of a softmod. if you can find one it would be safe to assume that it works like a quadro and less like a gaming card.

__________________
xp4000+
crap MSI board
2GB XMMS
x700xt
not worth OCing with this board.
emericanchaos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 12:29 AM   #11
TheGr8s1
Member

 
TheGr8s1's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Never Never Land

 
But I do remember something from Guru3d. It requires a script and Rivatuner. I don't think I'm that far from the truth cuz I coulda sworn I read about it.
TheGr8s1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 01:04 AM   #12
pip
Member

 
pip's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oregon, The InteLinux State

 
do not skimp[ when buying a CAD card a softmod may seem like a simple solution but for hardcore CAD it will usually cause more harm than good go with a real quadro or fire gl or wildcat not a retail version with a half-assed softmod job
pip is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 11:49 AM Thread Starter   #13
Maxwell Murder
Member

 
Maxwell Murder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boston, MA

 
Hmmm, I'm liking the Wildcat VP990 Pro. Is this absolutely the best card out there for this stuff?
Maxwell Murder is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 12:39 PM   #14
Evnas
Member

 
Evnas's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Maxwell Murder
Hmmm, I'm liking the Wildcat VP990 Pro. Is this absolutely the best card out there for this stuff?
In your price range...yes. Like i said, there are other Wildcat cards that can from from $1,000, to $3,000 (The Wildcat 3's and the Wildcat 4's)
Evnas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 06:04 PM   #15
Oni
Oni-ni-Kanabō
Ninja Hippo eater Moderator

 
Oni's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: St. Catharines, Ontario Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Have you considered the Matrox Parhelia? The Parhelia's strengths are CAD programs, iirc

__________________
Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

On Indefinite Hiatus

Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 930 @ Stock
12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
Corsair 750 Watt PSU

Oni is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 10:24 PM   #16
Cowboy X

 
Cowboy X's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Folding in Barbados

10 Year Badge
 
Unfortunately for the Parhelia it just can't compare to the cards really meant for CAD . The Firegl and quadro easily surpass it . The Parhelia is a jack of all trades and master of none

__________________
1/Asus P6T SE,Core i7 920 ( H2O ),ATI Radeon 5870 ( H2O ),OCZ Reaper 6 GB,OCZ Z 1000W modular ps,Seagate 7200.8 250 x2,WD Caviar Black 1TB,Nec AD-7170A,LG GGC Asus USB3.0 and SATA 6g cardBlu-ray/HD DVD drive and burner,Modified Koolance Tower , Swiftech GTZ, Koolance chipset and memory blocks, Modified Maze4 GPU cooler,Vista Ultimate 64
2/Sony Vaio SR590,Core 2 Duo P7450, ATI 4570m, 4GB DDR2, Win 7 64bit, Crucial M4
3/PS3 80 GB and 160 GB
Intermittent FOLDING: system 1, ATI 5870 and PS3 for Team 32
" Fear of GOD is the beginning of wisdom "
"The grass withereth, the flower fadeth, but the word of our GOD shall stand forever."

Fold for Team 32
Cowboy X is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-03, 12:04 AM   #17
maxxshwagg
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2001

 
i know i don't suppose to put for sale stuff up, but i have a pny quadro 900 xgl i am getting ready to list on ebay. runs CAD stuff like a dream. plays dx8 games pretty good also. i will sell it for $275 shipped with the digital to vga adapter. email shwagg01@yahoo.com
maxxshwagg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-03, 12:08 AM   #18
maxxshwagg
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2001

 
by the way, i had to sell my 9800pro (which is the best gaming card i ever owned, noticably faster and better IQ than the 5900 i have now) because it ran Pro-e so bad. don't buy an ATI consumer card to run CAD software. if you are going to buy a consumer card get a nvidia. my friends geforce mx ran Pro-E better than my 9800Pro.......If you a power user that also play some games get a quadro. if you only use CAD then get a wildcat.
maxxshwagg is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-03, 06:36 AM   #19
Atari
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Yea I have to agree.. I bought an 9800pro also, only to return it a few days later :/.. Great Card but its strictly for games (as it should be). Nvidia still has its hold on me I guess as I'm getting my 5900 this week since it'll run Maya / Linux / Games without trouble or having to softmod it to work right with the apps I use. Plus I use linux so kinda have to stay away from ATI :/.
Atari is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-15-03, 11:20 AM Thread Starter   #20
Maxwell Murder
Member

 
Maxwell Murder's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Boston, MA

 
The computer is going to be used for half Video Games and Half CAD/3DS Max. What do you suggest then?
Maxwell Murder is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?