• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Northbridge...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sHape oF gReY

...ok I am a bit new to the concept of OCing ( been looking over the forums and such while waiting for my paycheck so that my OCing may begin) and so far i found VERYTHING I was out to find....except..."What is gods name is Northbride!!!???" alot of post i've read mention it but not what it is and what it does.

...so, lets get to the point...what is a Northbridge?

PS ok flame away

Its the chipset that controls features to do with cpu and ram. By increasing the voltage of the northbridge (vdd) you are sometimes able to get a higher fsb, which helps in overclocking.

If you look at most motherboards, there is usually a fan or a heatsink unter the CPU socket. If you take that heatsink off, you will see the northbridge.

The northbridge lets the CPU "talk" to the memory, and in turn the memory "talk" to the CPU. When you increase the Front Side Bus speed (FSB) you are changing the speed that the CPU and the Northbridge can "talk", and hence the speed that the CPU and the memory can "talk".

That depends on what you plan to be doing.
(What CPU, what mobo, what heatsink, what ram.)
That info would give a rough idea how high you're going to be able to go. I'd say you would have to invest in northbriddge cooling only for really high overclocks.

This forum was created for questions like this, nobody's going to flame you.

You say you've been reading while waiting for your paycheck? That's a very smart move. May I suggest you post what components you came up with?

People's comments on them may potentionally save you lots of $, and more importantly save you time and aggravation.