Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

ATI 9600 Pro,I am not impressed.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-03, 01:46 AM Thread Starter   #1
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
ATI 9600 Pro,I am not impressed.


I have always been a Nvidia fan,but things change.I wanted to buy a 9500 Pro but ended up with a 9600 Pro and I am not getting any better frame rates than my Ti 4200.
Can anyone tell me the best way to set up this card as far as tweaking it?
I know nothing about ATI cards and am wondering if I should send it back to New Egg and exchange it tor the 9500 Pro,they didn't have it when I got this one.
I have read the tweak info for this card but I guess it isn't sinking in

Thanks

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 02:11 AM   #2
katka
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South Carolina

 
From what I understand the 9600Pro sucks big at stock. All I can tell you is either get the 9500Pro (or 9700NP if you can afford it) or OC the hell out of the 9600Pro.
katka is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 02:19 AM   #3
IR1
Member

 
IR1's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, California

10 Year Badge
 
DAve see what you can get on an OC. While the overclocks are mixed.. some get good oc's... others not to good. Try and see what you can get. If you must return it... Id suggest you find a cheap 9700np around 200. The 9500pro is like 195... so... Id skip the 9500pro.

9600pro will do better with details like AA and Anistro on. The GF4's were terrible with AA and AF. But they are beats without it on. So you may not get better fps without AA and AF but you will get massively better with them on.

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
Asus P8Z68-V
8GB DDR3-1600 Patriot Viper Xtreme
Visiontek 6950 2GB Ref. (stock)

Lenovo Y500 - Core I7 2.4Ghz
8GB DDR3-1600
Nvidia GeForce GT650M SLI
IR1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 02:33 AM   #4
MrMarbles
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey, US

 
shouldnt have got 9600 pro
and why would you if you already have ti4200? The difference between the two doesnt really justify an upgrade imo.

__________________
2.4b Ghz P4 (stock), 512 MB 1066 RDRAM, Radeon 9800 Pro, XP Pro, F@H
MrMarbles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 02:33 AM   #5
q149
Member

 
q149's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Japan

 
It will definately be better with aa/af.. still it's not a good performer and a 256 9500np is faster. My 9600 Pro was slower than my Ti4200 as well with performance settings and both oveclocked.

__________________
"Religion is the sigh of the oppressed creature, the heart of a heartless world, & the soul of soulless conditions. It is the opium of the people."

- Karl Marx
q149 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 03:49 AM   #6
emericanchaos
Member

 
emericanchaos's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Williamsport, PA

 
mwave has a 9700 non for 200 and you can get 9800 nons for 270's

__________________
xp4000+
crap MSI board
2GB XMMS
x700xt
not worth OCing with this board.
emericanchaos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 08:57 AM   #7
Ununquadium114
Disabled

 
Ununquadium114's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003

 
yea that upgrade was sort of pointless....
Ununquadium114 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 09:01 AM   #8
PreservedSwine
Member

 
PreservedSwine's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.

 
Dave, overclock the he** outa the R9600PRO, it's not a great card @ stock settings........but there is a TON of room for overclocking this little bad-boy


Also, you won't notice much of an FPS change UNTIL you enable bandwidth crunching features like FSAA.

Try running that O'clocked R9600PRO w/ 4xFSAA and 8 or 16x AF w/ max details in your favorite games, then try going back to the Ti4200
PreservedSwine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 10:27 AM   #9
MooMasster716
Member

 
MooMasster716's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Fontana, CA

 
Yea i agree OC because its no 9500 pro but it comes kinda close well not really but for me a ti4200 is good enough, i dont see why so many people are upgrading now?

__________________
Intel Q9550 @3ghz ### Xigmatech HDT-1283
4GB G.Skill F2 6400CL5-2GBPQ @840mhz
Gigabyte EP43-UD3L ### XFX Nvidia GTX275
500gb Seagate 7200.10
1TB Samsung F3
1000Watt Cooler Master Real Power PS
10 case fans of pure silence on 2 Sunbeam Fan Controlers
CoolerMaster 690
My Heatware
MooMasster716 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 12:39 PM   #10
Rethcir
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
I'm considering getting either a 9500 pro or 9600 pro.. they're both around the same price, and I want to stay under $200 if i can. Is the 9500 directx 9 capable? Cuz the '6 is, and it seems to be a little more refined (no external power, .13 micron etc) so I'm leaning towards the 9600 since I will be playing a lot of doom 3 and hl2 (directx 9 stuff) i hope. Either way I'm sure its a quantum leap up from my current elsa gladiac geforce 2mx. -Matt
Rethcir is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 12:59 PM   #11
emericanchaos
Member

 
emericanchaos's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Williamsport, PA

 
the 9600 is the lesser of the 2 cards. ATI intentionally made their middle of the road card weaker in hopes to sell more top end cards.

i can't find a 9500pro anywhere for cheaper than 180. for that kind of money you'd be better off getting a 9700 non pro. even if it won't OC well it's still the better choice.

__________________
xp4000+
crap MSI board
2GB XMMS
x700xt
not worth OCing with this board.
emericanchaos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 03:14 PM Thread Starter   #12
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Ununquadium114
yea that upgrade was sort of pointless....
Actually I upgraded because the Gainward TI 4200 I have something is wrong with it,I keep getting a pink screen when I play certain games.
I have sent it back twice and it still does it.I have actually relied on my old GForce 2 Ultra,I have sent the TI 4200 back again and hopefully it will be right when it comes back.


I will try and overclock the 9600 and see where I get..
Thanks

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 04:09 PM Thread Starter   #13
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Well I overclocked it and the best I can get is about 13000 in 3DMark 2001 that isn't any better than the Ti 4200.SO I think I am going to send it back.Not sure what I will get to replace it.

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 04:24 PM   #14
Hurk
Member

 
Hurk's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London, Ont

 
Good idea. The 9500 Pro performs much better, but as suggested the prioce difference between that and a 9700 non-pro is minimal, therefore the wiser choise.

I'd personally stick with the Ti4200 for now, until a game comes out that you can't play due to your current video card.

EDIT: Just read an above post, I'd get the ATI 9500 Pro since the Ti4200 is a no-go.
Hurk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 04:36 PM Thread Starter   #15
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Yeah but what about 9X support,will the 9500 Pro have that??

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 04:40 PM   #16
MrMarbles
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey, US

 
yes it will

__________________
2.4b Ghz P4 (stock), 512 MB 1066 RDRAM, Radeon 9800 Pro, XP Pro, F@H
MrMarbles is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 04:45 PM   #17
PreservedSwine
Member

 
PreservedSwine's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Ft. Myers, Fl.

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Dave65
Well I overclocked it and the best I can get is about 13000 in 3DMark 2001 that isn't any better than the Ti 4200.SO I think I am going to send it back.Not sure what I will get to replace it.


Try running it w/ FSAA, and compare then...o


r try 3Dm03, and compare those scores...

Even an R9700 doesn't get *much* better than a Ti4200 in 3Dm01....that's more of a system bench than a GPU bench anyway..

The real benift of the R9500/R9600/R9700PRO series is the ability to run games w/ ALL THE EYE CANDY, ie FSAA @ decent resolutions, with all effects set to max.




If your'e just running a non-fsaa 3dM01 bench and making a desision based on that, you WILL be equally disspointed w the R9500PRO...
PreservedSwine is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 04:57 PM Thread Starter   #18
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by PreservedSwine




Try running it w/ FSAA, and compare then...o


r try 3Dm03, and compare those scores...

Even an R9700 doesn't get *much* better than a Ti4200 in 3Dm01....that's more of a system bench than a GPU bench anyway..

The real benift of the R9500/R9600/R9700PRO series is the ability to run games w/ ALL THE EYE CANDY, ie FSAA @ decent resolutions, with all effects set to max.




If your'e just running a non-fsaa 3dM01 bench and making a desision based on that, you WILL be equally disspointed w the R9500PRO...
Ok well that explains a lot,I did not know that..Thanks..

I will download the 2003 3D Marks

And yes I was basing it on that..

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 05:01 PM   #19
james.miller
Member

 
james.miller's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Dunstable, uk

 
take it back and get a 9700non-pro if your not happy with the 9600pro. heres my softmodded 9500 (that makes it a 9700non-pro) vs a ti4200:

http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...hreadid=198060

over 100% faster @ 4xFSAA & 4xAF.

notice, however, that with my nf7-s i bearly score 1000 points more than the ti4200 at stock settings (no FSAA and no AF)

__________________
The HTPC

E2160 @ 2.7ghz | Thermaltake The Orb cooler | Asus p5w-dh | 4Gb DDR-II pc6400| 1.00Tb of WD AAKS storage | Asus Xonar D2| 360 HD-DVD drive
Pioneer bd204 bluray sata drive | Corsair HX620w PSU | BFG GeForce 8800GTX | Silverstone SST-LC17b
| 22" dell e228wfp | 40" 1080p SONY 40w2000

ONKYO TX-SR805 | bi-amped mission m71i fronts | eltax center & bipolar rears
2x 12" custom built subwoofers powered by a denon pma-100m | PS3 with linux and a 250gb 3.5" internal drive | Nintendo wii


james.miller is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-14-03, 07:53 PM Thread Starter   #20
Dave65

 
Dave65's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
In 3D Mark 2003 I got 3425 as a score with the 9600 Pro/.

__________________
Roswill THOR II-ASUS Maximus V Formula-Intel 3770K @ 4.6GHZ-Corsair H100i-Corsair Force GT 120 X 2 in RAID 0-Windows 7 Ultimate X64-16GB Corsair Vengeance 1866-ASUS 660s OC SLI-SILVERSTONE ST85F-P 850W/ Folding for TEAM 32
Folding User Stats
Dave65 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?