Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Can winxp be installed on 2 computers?

Thread Closed
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-03, 04:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
12am
Member

 
12am's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary AB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Can winxp be installed on 2 computers?


Hi all, I have 3 computers in my house and I'm wondering if I could install winxp onto all 3 of them? I only ask because I've heard that you can only change hardware 5 times before you have to re buy the software? can anyone sort out this product activation stuff for me?

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz (1.39 Vcore)
Idle=34c Load=62c (Corsair H80 Watercooling)
Gigabyte Z68 MA-DH2
8Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3Gb @ 1225/1700 (1.2v)
Corsair Tx750 V2 Powersupply
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition Case
80" Sharp Lc80Le632u Tv
12am is offline  
Old 07-15-03, 04:22 PM   #2
UnseenMenace
UnseenModerator

 
UnseenMenace's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Your problem is not the product activation but the fact that the EULA (End User Licence Agreement) for Windows XP actually forbids you from doing what you wish,... The only legal way around this situation is to buy additional licences from Microsoft or a Corporate Version of XP which has the appropiate licence.

__________________
one M15x is never enough
UnseenMenace is offline  
Old 07-15-03, 04:23 PM   #3
Fightingpiper
Member

 
Fightingpiper's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: St. Paul, MN

10 Year Badge
 
I Do believe if you have only 1 license you can only install it on one computer legally......


looks like menace beat to the send button.......

__________________
Isn't having a smoking section in a restaurant like having a peeing section in a swimming pool?

MY HEATWARE
Fightingpiper is offline  
Old 07-15-03, 04:25 PM   #4
Crash893
"The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed."
Senior Member

 
Crash893's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 22033

10 Year Badge
 
do you mean install it

then remove it

and move on to another computer?


i think you can do that but dont quote me on that im not an expert

__________________
My Prime95 stats Huzza
1004.793 Years total
Noli turbare circulos meos!
i'm moving to Theory, Everything works there
' I want to be the unwobbling pivot at the center of an ever-revolving universe; I want to be still.'
Crash893 is offline  
Old 07-15-03, 04:41 PM   #5
KraziKid
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Crash893
do you mean install it

then remove it

and move on to another computer?


i think you can do that but dont quote me on that im not an expert
You can do that. You can only have one instance of a single Product Key on an active installation at any given time. This means that if you want to install it on a second computer, you must uninstall windows from the first computer. As previousely noted, you either need to buy multiple licenses, or a volume license.
KraziKid is offline  
Old 07-15-03, 04:42 PM Thread Starter   #6
12am
Member

 
12am's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Calgary AB Canada

10 Year Badge
 
so ethically I couldn't install it on more than one computer but the *EDIT*?

__________________
Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.7Ghz (1.39 Vcore)
Idle=34c Load=62c (Corsair H80 Watercooling)
Gigabyte Z68 MA-DH2
8Gb Corsair Vengeance @ 1600mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7970 3Gb @ 1225/1700 (1.2v)
Corsair Tx750 V2 Powersupply
Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition Case
80" Sharp Lc80Le632u Tv
12am is offline  
Old 07-15-03, 04:43 PM   #7
Crash893
"The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed."
Senior Member

 
Crash893's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 22033

10 Year Badge
 
yes its called pirateing and its not only unethicall but also becoming increasingly illgeal

__________________
My Prime95 stats Huzza
1004.793 Years total
Noli turbare circulos meos!
i'm moving to Theory, Everything works there
' I want to be the unwobbling pivot at the center of an ever-revolving universe; I want to be still.'
Crash893 is offline  
Old 07-15-03, 05:31 PM   #8
LutaWicasa

Immutable
Administrator

 
LutaWicasa's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicago

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by 12am
so ethically I couldn't install it on more than one computer but *EDIT*?
Not "ethically".......that's legally.
Discussion of illegal activities will not be tolerated at these forums.

__________________
Abjure obfuscation
LutaWicasa is offline Heatware Profile  

Thread Closed


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?