Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Running hot i think

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-16-03, 07:02 PM Thread Starter   #1
Rattlesnake
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
Running hot i think


hi all, been a year since i was last here wow time fly's

OK first my spec's

Thermaltake case Xaser II 6000
Althlon Xp 2200 NOT OVERCLOCKED
Arctic Silver II
Thermaltake Volcano 7+ heatsink/fan
M/B Abit KD7
Abit Siluro ti4200 OTES
2 Hard drives
1 Dvd rom
1 Cd writer

Ok the problem
The room temp in 27c, my bios say core temp of my cpu is 42c
now here is where am confused my thermal prob attached under cpu say's 52c, so what one should i trust...
and also isnt this too hot for Idle temp's
Rattlesnake is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-03, 07:10 PM   #2
Soja
Member

 
Soja's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: OC, CA

10 Year Badge
 
More important, what is your load temps? Compare both. Idle temps in bios and thermistor doesn't determine much.

__________________
e4300 @ 3006mhz 1.55v abit ib9 2x1gb x800gto @ 615/620 corsair hx520w ubuntu feisty fawn fold heat
Soja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-03, 07:58 PM   #3
chilly charlie
Member

 
chilly charlie's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: ontario

 
thermal probe is more accurate the say to add 10-20 c to the bios temp and that is the true reading......under the core where the reading is taken there is usually air in between which causes the false reading.

__________________

INTEL I5 2500K @4.3 GHZ
P67A-UD3-B3 GIGABYTE MB
16 GB G.SKILL RIPJAW 1600MHZ RAM
240 CORSAIR SSD drive
SAPHIRE 6970 ATI RADEON
3 x 2TB WD BLACK EDITION
Corsair H60 watercool
coolermaster 932 full case
LG Blue ray 10x burner

chilly charlie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-03, 08:18 PM   #4
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
yea, the thermal probe should be more accurate.
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-03, 09:17 PM   #5
Soja
Member

 
Soja's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: OC, CA

10 Year Badge
 
"thermal prob attached under cpu"

Doesn't that mean the mobo temp probe in the socket?

__________________
e4300 @ 3006mhz 1.55v abit ib9 2x1gb x800gto @ 615/620 corsair hx520w ubuntu feisty fawn fold heat
Soja is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-16-03, 10:29 PM   #6
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
no, it means one that is actually taped to the back of the cpu die itself.
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?