• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Game stops responding after I messed with the RAM and fsb speeds.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hawkeye_wx

Game stops responding(no system lockup) after I briefly messed with the RAM speed.

My system is a 1700+ @ 2000, Abit NF7-S v2.0, Crucial pc2100(2x256). I had been running the ram and fsb at 133. Yesterday, I was playing around with the ram and fsb speeds running benchmarks at fsb/ram of 200/133, 143/143, 191/143, and 148/148. I decided to keep the speeds at 143/143 so as to not risk frying the ram by running it too fast. The voltage is 2.72, which is the default because this motherboard overvolts the RAM. This morning I started playing SimCity4, my main city(I have two smaller cities), and within 5 minutes the game stopped responding. The system did not lock up. I could still move the mouse pointer around and I was able to bring up the task manager and end the non-responding game. I then rebooted the system with fsb and ram speeds back down to 133. I went into my main city in SimCity4 and again it stopped responding within 5 minutes. In the task manager I ended it again. I went back into SimCity and started playing one of my smaller neighbor cities. I played for 25 minutes and it ran fine. I then went to my other small neighbor city and played for 5 minutes with no problems. I then started playing the main city again(12,500 residents) and within 5 minutes the game stopped responding.

I have not had any other problems with my system, although I haven't tried any other 3d games. I have been running prime95 successfully for almost 5 hours now. What do you all make of this? Could I have messed up the ram when overclocking it? Could one city in SimCity4 have become corrupt?

Last edited: