Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

MB recommendations

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-03, 12:24 PM Thread Starter   #1
Barnstormer
Member

 
Barnstormer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Wild Blue Yonder

 
MB recommendations


So I am going to finally upgrade my MB, and I have read a bunch of posts about all the different options, but was wondering what the current opinion was going to be for the best way to go. I am leaning towards a NF7 but I know there are lots of choices.
I want good overclocking ability and stability. I am going to run the 1700 pally I have in it for the moment, upgrading the cpu later.
Please dont just give your reccomendation- I would like to know WHY you think somthing.
Thanks in advance!
Brian
Barnstormer is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 12:29 PM   #2
L337 M33P
Member

 
L337 M33P's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TEH INTERNETS

 
Ideally this should be posted in the MOTHERBOARDS AMD section, but anyway

For lots of shiny features, SATA, Voice POST reporter, blah blah go with the ASUS A7N8X Deluxe. Make sure you get revision 2 though - other revisions have trouble getting to 200mhz FSB. I would go with Asus as it's going to be my next board

The more common option is the NF7-S because it is cheaper, has nearly the same amount of stuff as the Asus and is probably more reliable with the evil BIOS corruption issue. Also the northbridge seems to overclock better as they offer Vdd increases with that board

remember to beef up with cooling if you are going to OC that Pally - they are notorious for space-heating, especially one like mine

Another alternative is the Epox 8RDA+ board - most of the extreme overclocks in the CPU database are with this board, but i am not too familiar with it.
L337 M33P is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 12:56 PM   #3
don256us

 
don256us's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bridgman, MI

10 Year Badge
 
I personally am looking to the Asus A7N8X-Deluxe ver 2.0. It has all of the toys, is getting kick-butt reviews, etc.

If you go for the Abit, make sure you get that in ver 1.2. Abit ver 1.0 did not have mounting holes for a HSF. Ver 1.1 has holes but it also has electronics in the way of the holes. Ver 1.2 seems to have fixed that.

Asus ver 1.04 and higher will make the 200 fsb with a bios upgrade but it is still not the same as ver 2.0 which supports 200 right out of the box.

Both the Asus and Abit are well liked. The Asus is about $40 more. Either one that you decied, get it from a retailer that will garuntee the version.

__________________
Core i7-920 @ 3.66 | EVGA X58 SLI | 2x 256 GB Samsung 830 SSD RAID 0 | 1.5 TB WD Green | 6x4GB DDR3 1600 CAS 8 |2 X R9 280XFolding
AMD 1035T X6 | Win 7 Pro |Zalman 7000 Cu | DDR3 1333 (16 GB) | 500 GB SATA x 2 | 240 GT | Not folding.
AMD Athlon II x3 440 @ x4 B40 | Win SBS 2008 | 120 GB | DDR3 1600 (4 GB) | ATI 4200 | 2 x DVD-DL | Folding.


Folding User Stats
My Heatware
Fold for team 32.
don256us is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 01:03 PM   #4
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
Cheap $44 T-Brted B can really boost your system. Consider getting one now.

$44 factory unlocked T-Bred B easily hits 3000+ and more with basic Thermalright cooling.

Mobos?
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=10384

http://www.overclockers.com/tips00427/


Cheapest guaranteed T-Bred B? $49 free shipping
http://www.gameve.com/store/gameve_v...?idproduct=267

Last edited by c627627; 07-21-03 at 01:48 PM.
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 01:34 PM   #5
v8vega350
Member

 
v8vega350's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: washington

 
i say the nf7 2.0 series it has a vcore of 2.3v with out having to mod it im not sure abuot the asus but i think its only 1.85v without mods. it has a 5bit fid so all the multipliers are unlocked but you probley wont need over 12.5 if you have good ram that will run @ 200 or more. i am not sure about the asus having a 5bit fid or not can an owner tell me? i have herd a few times the nf7's going to 250 fsb on ave. about 230. but as for the bios curruption problems i have had mine for a few months now and i have never had any problems with it. and i have herd of the asus boards just dieing after a period of time. and if it wont post after a save i just turn off my psu and it goes back to 11x100 settings but it saves the settings so i can just fix the one i messed up on. my .02

__________________
amd optron 165 @2500 mhz
asus a8n32 sli
big typhoon cooler
4 300 gig maxtor drives
1 320 gig maxtor
1 500 gig wd ::bang head
4 gig of something good lol
950 watt corsair psu
nec 3540a dvd burner
klispch pro media 5.1
Nvidia gtx 285
"i know it will go just a little farther"
v8vega350 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 01:49 PM   #6
Molester
Member

 
Molester's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, Tx

 
asus multies unlocked, up to like 17x(can we get some LN2), as for vcore, yeah, up to 1.85, and have 2 asus a7n8x 2.0's in the house, neither have "just died", plus, love the dual lan, no router needed for both of us to have internet(my computer always stays on, 24/7/365
Molester is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 01:49 PM   #7
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
No matter how many times I post this, I have never seen anone comment on this $75 Soltek beating Asus nForce2:
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=10384
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 01:59 PM   #8
Molester
Member

 
Molester's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, Tx

 
umm, because of dual lan, integrated soundstorm dolby 5.1 sound, 6 channel audio, firewire, 6 usb 2.0, unlocked multi., unlocked fsb(can change 1mhz at a time), sata, etc.....
Molester is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 02:11 PM   #9
c627627

c(π*199780) Senior Member

 
c627627's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas

10 Year Badge
 
That's what I mean. So all those things cannot be found on the Soltek...?
c627627 is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 02:17 PM   #10
Molester
Member

 
Molester's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, Tx

 
well, upon quick scan, soltek has 2 dimm slots, asus has 3 dimm slots, hahaha, other than that, don't know, i'll keep digging though
Molester is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 02:54 PM   #11
sHape oF gReY
Member

 
sHape oF gReY's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: On the firing line.

 
I would go with an Abit NF7-S from personal experiance. Me and my brother are running exactly same rigs except he's running a Asus A7N8X-Deluxe ver 2.0 and im running an NF7-S, and in the time we had them mine has been more stable.

This however may just be a luck of the draw... or maybe not. Read what everyone else is writing and make your own conclusion .... thats what seperates us from the monkies... atleast the dumb ones
sHape oF gReY is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-21-03, 03:28 PM   #12
Gautam
Senior Benchmark Addict



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hillsboro, OR

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
as for vcore, yeah, up to 1.85
This can be a problem in higher level overclocking. You'd be hard pressed to cross 2.45ghz or so with any processor with that low amount of voltage. The Soltek maxes out here, also. I really couln't care less about soundstorm, no matter what anyone says, I still prefer my SB Live! Value. As for all the other stuff you mentioned, the $99 Soltek SL-75FRN2-RL has everything, for considerably cheaper than all other competitors. The only difference, I'm told, btw between Soundstorm certified boards, and those that aren't, is a SPDIF connector. My vote still goes to any one of the Abit NF7 series. They just can't be beat, allowing voltage adjustment for the northbridge, also, which often becomes important. Molester, are you sure that your board allows the full range, i.e. 5-12.5x, also?

__________________
El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway
Gautam is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?