Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Help with Linux and WMWARE

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-23-03, 01:52 PM Thread Starter   #1
Speed_Freak
Member

 
Speed_Freak's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali

 
Question Help with Linux and WMWARE


Well I successfully have Linux Red Hat up and running and im slowly but surely updating and installing everything I need. My original goal was to get VMware running Windows XP Pro so I could use some of the few windows-only apps if i so desired, or maybe play a not very graphics intensive game every now and then...just because I could. Now I have VMware installed and everything but it WILL NOT read ANY windows CDs. I tried my XP Pro, my Win 98, my friend's XP Pro but to no avail. Just to see, I started up VMware and had my Red Hat CD (which is a burned copy) in just to see if it would read and it did so just fine. Now of course im not really going to run Linux off of VMware inside of linux but it was just for testing purposes. I have tried setting VMware to use all of the different IDE ports just to see if it might be different but to no avail. I do get a successful boot and can successfully get into the BIOS configurations by pressing F2 at startup. However, everytime i try to get it to boot from the OS CD it says no bootable CD, floppy, or hard drive detected etc. etc. I tried 'cheating' and mounting the disk to a folder and tried to have it read from there but to no avail. I could really use some help. Thanks in advance.

Justin
Speed_Freak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-23-03, 03:34 PM   #2
PolyPill
Senior Member



Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany

 
I run vmware prefectly fine in debian, and have done the same in redhat. Did you have the vmware-config compile new modules based off your kernel source or are you using the pre-compiled ones? Also might want to try to boot off a floppy and what happens. Might also want to shoot vmware tech support a email, they're very helpful, or just search their knowledge base.
PolyPill is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-03, 01:46 AM Thread Starter   #3
Speed_Freak
Member

 
Speed_Freak's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali

 
I had the vmware-config compile the new modules based off of my kernel source. Would using the pre-compiled ones be better? I just got home from work and haven't got a chance to try anything else yet but will post when I do. Thanks.
Speed_Freak is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Alternative Operating Systems
Alternative Operating Systems Linux, Mac, Unix Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?