Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

XP lag after desktop appears

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-03, 11:47 AM Thread Starter   #1
deeppow
Senior Member

 
deeppow's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Alamos, NM

10 Year Badge
 
XP lag after desktop appears


After WinXP has opened the desktop, I get a lag of about a minute before I can do anything. After the "dead period" things operate as normal. Task Master shows nothing but idle going on yet the OS and CPU are clearly occuppied with something. This has started in the last 7 to 10 days and wasn't occuring previously. Have cleared the registry. Haven't installed new software.

Any suggestions how to figure out what is causing the delay?

Thanks!

__________________
ASUS Maximus Hero VI , Intel i7 4770K @4.5Ghz
-- GSkill DDR3 2400 (2*4Gb) 9-11-11-31
--
Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
--
EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
--
Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Sumsung 840Pro 512G
--
Corsair 1050 in Lian-Li PC-V1200
--
Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit
deeppow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-03, 01:00 PM   #2
Skiing Squirrel
Member



Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC

10 Year Badge
 
That is an odd problem... Maybe some kind of program (spyware) snuck in and is taking a long time to load when the OS boots? I don't really know though...

__________________
Random posting and questions since June!
Skiing Squirrel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-03, 01:40 PM   #3
thalzaar24
Member

 
thalzaar24's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Jax, Florida

 
I agree with Skiing Squirrel. Download SpyBot and AdAware 6 and run them on your computer to check for any spy/adware that might be running when you start up.

__________________
Opteron 165 (270x9 daily)
Zalman CNPS9500 LED 92mm HSF
Epox 9NPA+ SLI
eVGA 7800 GTX
2x1Gb G.Skill Extreme 3200
RAID 0 x2 Seagate SATA 120Gb
SB Audigy 2
OCZ Modstream 520w


My Heatware
thalzaar24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-03, 01:54 PM   #4
NiTrO bOiE
Member

 
NiTrO bOiE's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
Do you have disk checking enabled at startup? That may cause your comp to slow.

__________________
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ DTR @ 2750
MB:
DFI Lanparty UT 250GB

Memory: 2x 1GB G.Skill PC3200

Video:
Radeon X800XT-PE w/ Maze 4 GPU

Hard Drives:
36GB Raptor (Main) 160GB Hitachi (Storage)

Optical Storage:
44x CD, 8x DVD-RW

Sound:
Audigy 2 ZS
Case & Power: Black Chieftec FT w/ Window, Antec TP 430
Watercooled WW, Pro Core (2) 120mm Deltas, Hydor L20
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
NiTrO bOiE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-03, 02:07 PM   #5
rdy2rave
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2003

 
Where do you check to see if diskcheck is enabled at startup?
rdy2rave is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-03, 04:29 PM Thread Starter   #6
deeppow
Senior Member

 
deeppow's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Alamos, NM

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by thalzaar24
I agree with Skiing Squirrel. Download SpyBot and AdAware 6 and run them on your computer to check for any spy/adware that might be running when you start up.
Ya already did that, both are clear. Also ran Housecall for virsus and nothing there either.

Were is diskcheck?

__________________
ASUS Maximus Hero VI , Intel i7 4770K @4.5Ghz
-- GSkill DDR3 2400 (2*4Gb) 9-11-11-31
--
Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
--
EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
--
Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Sumsung 840Pro 512G
--
Corsair 1050 in Lian-Li PC-V1200
--
Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit
deeppow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-03, 01:37 AM   #7
spacetwinke
Registered



Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Michigan

 
Ive just went through this problem and it drove me insane.
Come to find out it was something as simple as a bad Ide cable.
I sent a motherboard back out of frustration and Installed windows every which way. The problem kept on. Changed the cable and was like new. Sometimes its the simplest things that burn you!
spacetwinke is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-03, 08:20 AM Thread Starter   #8
deeppow
Senior Member

 
deeppow's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Alamos, NM

10 Year Badge
 
I found it, thanks for taking the time to reply folks. Problem was a service that was hanging on startup and finally timing out.

Be

__________________
ASUS Maximus Hero VI , Intel i7 4770K @4.5Ghz
-- GSkill DDR3 2400 (2*4Gb) 9-11-11-31
--
Iwaki MD-20RLZT -> EK Sup. Univ. -> Chiller -> Resev
--
EVGA GTX680,Klipsch Promedia 4.1
--
Intel 510 120G, Crucial M4 120G, Sumsung 840Pro 512G
--
Corsair 1050 in Lian-Li PC-V1200
--
Win7 64-bit, Ubuntu 64-bit
deeppow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-03, 06:06 PM   #9
Cerial_Killer
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2001

 
well dont stop there tell us what the service was Mine is doing the same thing and i just reformated all drives and installed xp again, and its still doing it.
Cerial_Killer is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?